Ecotrain Question of the Week - What changes have you seen in the world in the last 10 years...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ecotrain7 years ago

What changes have you seen in the world in the last 10 years, and in which direction do you think we are headed?
That is the question posed by @eco-alex to the @ecotrain members. This will be my first post as a member of the Ecotrain and I am excited for the challenge and am honored to get to contribute and learn from these people who are dedicated to making the world a better place.

One very encouraging change that I have seen is that a new generation is going back to the land and realizing the importance of growing their own food and healing the land.

E0DBD86E-C7E0-4313-96FB-B2FC45C81C7D.jpeg
Photo credit : http://www.thefarmandfiddle.com/home.html

In our local area family farms were dying out and most farming is large scale mono crops. Then probably around ten years ago there emerged the first CSA in the area. Now there are probably 10 or more and also many “pick your own” fruit farms. Many of them are created by some young people in their early 30’s and they are networking with others and creating communities that support each other and value organically grown food, music, and creativity.

These young people didn’t choose the corporate world. They choose to get up before the crack of dawn and feed and care for animals or pick their crops for the farmers market.

Their entrepreneurial spirit has revived our dying downtown area and turned it into a very hopping place to be. The old crusty people who wanted to stifle progress are either falling to the wayside or getting on board and loving the changes. When I say progress, I don’t mean tearing down the charm and character of our town, I mean reviving it and making it even better than before.

I follow a lot of blogs and people on social media who are into similar things and I can see that it is happening all over the place. My niece who lives in Paris just spent 14 weeks last year traveling around France to different farms and learning about permaculture. She is in her early 30’s and it seems that the majority of the group was in that demographic.

When I see these things, I know there is hope for the future. My four year old grandson says that he wants to be a farmer when he grows up. I think that is a very noble goal.

Thanks for stopping by!

04EE26E2-0339-4C8E-B388-DEF841AE0C8E.jpeg

47B440DB-F232-491F-AB56-616D573BCA54.png

Sort:  

Welcome to the train sister! Glad you are on board and I love your post! This is a very important thing that is happening indeed people going back to the land. Might be one of the more important signs that we are moving in the right direction!

I certainly hope that we are. 🌿😊🌿

Congrats on your first ecoTrain post and welcome to the train again.
Yes, this is a very encouraging development indeed, many people starting to contribute to a better future in very practical ways.

By the way, I just noticed that you power up 100%.
I recommend to do 50%/50% at the moment, you could then change your liquid SBD into Steem and power up if you wanted, this way you make more and can grow your account quicker.

welcome aboard! lovely post too! I wouldnt have thought about what you say, but its true.. i also meet SO many people who are desiring to learn how to do this.. in fact, when i held a permaculture workshop it was so popular I had to turn people away, and I hardly advertised it..

OOh,, a bright new future awaits us!

@stillwatersart, this are beautiful news you shared here and somehow are bringing hope that land and world will be cured one day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63