Dark themes in folk music .. A homeschool lesson

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

20180219_070211.jpg

It was a cold, dark and stormy night, my love was far away. We were huddled around the fireplace to keep warm, my two youngest children, myself and the two house cats. Rain was lashing against the window panes, the wind howling through the gaps and blowing in gusts down the chimney from time to time, filling the room with smoke. I was playing the guitar, feeling kind of dark and distant, I was playing 'The Bows of London' as I sometimes do, when a certain mood takes me.

Only the day before, their mum had warned me to be more careful about discussing dark, adult themes with, or in front of the children. It's something we both do and is sometimes hard to avoid. Kids ask questions. They overhear stuff. They want to know what's going on as much as anyone else does. Even more so, because it's all new to them still. The mysterious ways of the world. Life.

'The Bows of London' is a folk song which dates back to the 1600's. It tells the chilling and gruesome story of two sisters. To begin with, one sister pushes the other sister into the river and she drowns. Her body is later pulled out of the river by a miller's son and then a fiddler comes along...

By this point in the song I noticed that my six year old was paying attention to the words.

'What? Did she drown?' he asks, looking a bit disturbed.

'Why did she push her sister into the river', his big sister asks, confused.

'I don't know.' I reply. 'Maybe she was jealous.'

At this point, the story goes from bad to worse, but by now the children were intrigued and wanted to know what happened next...

What happens is that the fiddler takes the drowned girl's long hair and uses it to make a violin bow. At this, the children are quite horrified. I explain that it's a very old song and that in the olden days they didn't have scary movies. There were no computers or televisions. No special effects. In those days there were hardly even any books and most people couldn't even read. So they told stories and sang songs. Sometimes they were scary stories.

After the fiddler makes his violin bow, he proceeds to make a violin from the poor girl's body parts. It really is a very gruesome story indeed. Probably one of the darkest folk songs I know.

When he's finished making his macabre musical instrument, the fiddler rides to the king's hall where there's a big party going on. The king and queen are there, as well as their daughter - the princess who murdered her sister. He lays the fiddle down on a stone and then it starts playing by itself.

'What? How?' asks the youngest, his eyes wide.

We talk a bit about instrument making. How I make guitars from trees which have usually been killed. How in a way, it brings them back to life.

Then the violin begins to speak...

'Yonder sits my father the king
Yonder sits my father the king

And yonder sits my mother the queen
How she'll weep at my burying

And yonder sits my sister, Anne
She who drownded me in the stream

By the bonnie bonnie bows of London'

It certainly is a very dark tale indeed, but it did give us some good discussion. They learned a bit of history and a few other things besides.

In this world they're growing up into, there is no escaping from dark subjects. Children in America this week are dealing with the aftermath of another school shooting and the prospect of more to come. Sometimes, it's easier to tell a tale from 400 years ago than it is to explain to children what is going on in the world today, in a way they can understand and which make sense to them.

Here is a Wikipedia article about the song and its origins:

https://g.co/kgs/n4tkaT

Here are father - daughter duo Martin and Eliza Carthy with their version of this 400 year old song:

For the latest ecotrain posts, check out:

https://steemit.com/created/ecotrain

Sort:  

Very profound story
Yes
These old folk tales are probably less frightening than modern day stories!

Lovely thought provoking writings!

wow that is very dark and morbid indeed, but I find that our kids really look to us sometimes to really seen our reaction and from there they show their fear. I always try and be honest and open about things and talk about it in a natural way.

So do I. I never could understand why some people talk to children like they're stupid. Thanks for your comment.

Yes, indeed 400 years all song seems nothing compared to our modern world darkness. Thank you for sharing this beauty @stillgideon.

There's nothing new under the sun, as they say

I love this. I wouldn't worry too much because kids' songs and old fairy tales are full of dark and disturbing images - London Bridge, Ring Around the Rosy, Little Red Riding Hood, the original Little Mermaid and Little Match Girl and all those Brothers Grimm stories. 3 Billy Goats Gruff is seriously disturbing. I get the desire to avoid talking to kids about things that are too heavy, but in that 7-11 age they are primarily fascinated by the battle between good and evil.
I remember being a kid, and my dad started playing Eric Clapton Cocaine. About halfway through he noticed I was singing along and clearly knew all the words, so he stopped and said, please don't sing that song in front of your mom.

That reminds me how my daughter used to sing 'the devil's right hand' when she was three. All part of a well rounded education I say..

And yes, those fairy tales are dark as can be.. all the way from jack and the beanstalk to the bible.

Oh, honey, if your kids are singing Johnny Cash, you're definitely doing something right.

And no doubt about the bible! Seriously dark and creepy shit in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33