You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homemade Biochar to Sequester Carbon and Increase Soil Fertility

in #ecotrain6 years ago

It's great to see someone else who has discovered the benefits, (and fun), of bio-char. I've been making it and using it for many years. Ever since I saw a documentary about Terra Preta. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terra_preta)
One of my favorite ways of producing it is with a gasifier stove. I've made dozens of them over the years. It's a great way to cook with wood without much smoke.
A retort is also a simple way to make bio-char any time one has a campfire.
Here is a post I made last year about bio-char.

https://steemit.com/biochar/@stevesmith/free-retort-makes-the-cleanest-biochar

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment @stevesmith! Interesting method. Since the 7 days are not up I could edit this post and added a link to your method in the bottom of this one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64029.44
ETH 2756.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65