You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom in America - Too Much or Not Enough? Ecotrain QOTW

in #ecotrain6 years ago

A certain degree of freedom is required to consider this question. America provides that... Consider our past, consider the bad old days of Soviet Russia, colonial Africa. Things could definitely be less free. America will never be perfect. America should always be striving to provide freedom to more people and more ideas. I exercise my freedom by raising my family with the values I believe in. I exercise my freedom by trying to provide my sons the best opportunities available to them. Does my freedom take away from others? In a society where not everyone has the same opportunities, yes this can limit others opportunities. I feel we must fight for equal freedom and opportunities for all. Doing the best we can with our freedoms while fighting for freedom for all seems the best we can do in today's America.

Sort:  

"In a society where not everyone has the same opportunities, yes this can limit others opportunities" thats a tricky point. How do we as you say provide the best opportunities for your family while keeping the bigger picture in mind. It's a challenge for sure.

Yes we could be more free, and I'm not trying to discount this fact. Just highlight we have a ways to go yet. There are many instances today where folks have MUCH less freedom.

I appreciate the response and am happy you're taking time to reflect on it ;)

thoughtful discourse on such a difficult subject... what a concept haha thanks for your post and reply @mountainjewel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44