You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why we need personal boundaries and how to create healthy ones: The Path To Enlightenment, Initiation 6 of 9

in #ecotrain7 years ago

Thank you for that post, a lot to think about now, i'm a bit stuck though on the line between trying to be a non-dominating parent and my 5 year old wanting to dominate every single situation!, crossing my boundaries many times a day, such as waking me when I have a nap with my baby or shouting at me. I don't want to crush his testing out of his boundaries, but neither can I let him out in a t-shirt when he is snotty and its freezing or let him have biscuits for lunch!, its kinda hard.......But I will read through the above again ;-)

Sort:  

ha! that sounds like quite the challenge! I think with kids you have sit down and think hard about where you limit is and then dont let them cross it no matter what.. At least, when you DO set a boundary you need to stick to it.. that i know first hand is so important!

True, its a hard one to do sometimes depending on ones energy levels! :-) but yes ...sometimes i slip on that, good to be reminded! think im going to try meditating on it! ;-)

nice idea! yeah it depends on the child too. I was a pleaser so it was easy to make me do what mum wanted.. whereas my youngest brother would simply tell her f'off and would push back like a truck!

they all so different! :-) Such different parenting tactics needed for each one! so many skills to learn! so much for me to to learn from them <3