You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Have a Perfect Child and That's Just So Beautiful...

in #ecotrain7 years ago

Most excellent parenting! Kids often internalize over zealous praise as pressure. I was a "golden child" too. Eventually I couldn't take the pressure. I felt like my worth was totally tied to my grades. I finally said to hell with it and got pretty wild and then a pretty intense radical. It's so much better to just be loved warts and all. I make a point to tell my kids I will always love them, no matter what. My son quizzes me often: "What if I do X horrible thing? Will you still love me?" Yes, baby. Mama always loves you, but I'd probably be really mad if you did that.

Sort:  

Haha kids are really smart these days. I would give my son the same answer too if he starts to quiz me which I think he will in another year or so. Being a golden child does feel great but the pressure that brings with itself is enormous and frustrating. I am happy moving past it too. So happy to know you feel free and happy now. Love you!

Love you too, mama. So good to be content with who I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61