You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ecoTrain Question Of The Week: Lawful kidnapping by the State (Child Protection, Social Services) is a symptom of a modern day crisis. What are the issues that lay behind the increasing trend of State taking children away from their parents, and ...

in #ecotrain7 years ago

Thanks for encouraging us to keep focused on this issue. I've seen a host of terrible tragedies, and honestly, they're definitely getting worse. People are seemingly more and more willing to watch liberties be yanked from them. And also to watch that gap between the rich and the poor grow and grow. You're right that poverty is a big piece of the problem. I was forced to work an overnight right after my boyfriend and I had split up, and I had to leave my then 13 and 9 yo's home alone. If I had been found out, they would have been taken for sure. It's such a horrible burden hanging over your head. As a parent, the thought of losing my children is worse than anything. That said, there's more than poverty. Those of us who choose to go outside the mainstream are also targeted. I had a friend who was investigated for over a year because she unschooled and wanted her daughter to learn to read when she was ready. When she turned 7 and hadn't yet learned to read, the grandmother called CPS. It's absolute insanity. In any case, thanks. I am excited to write about it. Still putting it together in my head.

Sort:  

thanks for your comment! it seems that the problem is worse than just the people who have lost their children. . because as you say MANY people also live in fear of this happening to them for trying to make good parental choices, e.g. homeschooling .. so this is a terrible situation as your education choices for your own child should Never be a reason to remove a child from a family. That to me is unethical, especially considering the state of the education system in most countries!

It is indeed bigger than that. I'm getting ready to start writing. I think I have a unique perspective, and I believe everyone is suffering in the utter failure of this system. Hopefully have an article out tomorrow.

i look forward to reading your perspectives on this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36