Just a Little More on the Patriarchy

in #ecotrain7 years ago

So, I think I was pretty clear about how I feel on the topic in my last post. Honestly I really thought I toned it down, but well, I'm passionate. It's a blessing and a curse. I don't ever post videos on here. Honestly my jungle Internet prevents me from even watching pretty much all videos. However. Every once in a while a doozy comes along, and this is a good one! And you know it's good because the misogynists lined up to comment under the video.

Now, I don't honestly know a lot about Russell Brand or his politics. I know he made an absolutely lovely video after the birth of his first child that was all about what an amazing goddess his wife was and how magical birth is. So, obviously, the guy can't be all bad. My only issue in this video is that I don't think it makes sense to try to change this kind of thing through law. I think their intentions are good, and I absolutely love what Brand has to say, but I also think a boycott of offending companies or better educating children of the general disgustingness of advertising, particularly in the realm of objectifying people, mostly women, would be far better than creating more laws for people to fight and buck up against.

Anyway, it's a good video. Totally worth a watch!!

Sweden to Ban Sexist Adverts

Sort:  

nice post!!! i have followed Brand for years.. i do love him,, he normally speaks GREAT truths.. and he is also quite connected in more ways that one..

Indeed. He seems to understand a lot. Gotta love a man that can cover birth, the patriarchy, and also football. He definitely has an ego, but at least it's not unfounded.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34