Emigration, Immigration, Bullying, Extortion, Murder, Destruction of Families, and Other Fun Tales

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Well, let's talk about something totally non controversial, shall we?! Immigration is a red hot issue. Everybody and their mama has a big fat opinion about it. Unfortunately, very few people really understand how it works and base their opinions on the ten second sound bytes of the media and the politicians. Even if you do understand how it works in your country, the rules are likely different in other countries. For example, I totally don't understand what the hell is going on in Europe. What is a Schengen country anyway?! Quite frankly I don't understand US immigration very well because I'm from there and don't have to think about it there and also because it is insanely complicated. The one thing that is the same everywhere? Immigration officials have you by the balls. And some of them really, really get off on that power.

In case you thought US immigration was a quick and easy process source
image.jpeg

When you leave a country you are emigrating. Everyone thinks everyone should be allowed to do this. No one has any problems with emigrating. When you enter a country, you are immigrating, and that's the one everyone seems to get their panties in a twist about. When you come to a country with no intent of returning to your home country, you are an immigrant. For those who missed my earlier post on this topic, this is why I don't refer to myself as an expat anymore. Expats go to another country with the intent of eventually returning to their home country. However, since so many people have so much hate in their tiny hearts for immigrants but think they should be allowed to live wherever they want, they call themselves expats. I digress.

Let's just get this bit about the difference between legal and illegal immigrants out of the way first. I would venture on a limb to say very, very few people understand this. Many people think all illegal immigrants in the US either swam the Rio Grande or snuck through the desert at night. I imagine there is a similar scenario in Europe where there also seems to be a decent amount of anti-immigrant sentiment. People often arrive legally. They have a dream of a different life. Like I did. Then shit doesn't go how they planned (also a familiar story for me). In all countries, regular check-ins or extensions of your stay are required. Being late can have very serious financial and legal consequences. If an immigrant loses a job or has to repair a car or has a sick kid, that can mean not having the money for the check in with immigration because those aren't free. Because going in late can mean immediate deportation, many people are willing to take the risk of staying illegally.

Even when you are on time and you do have the money or work requirements or whatever it is you need to pacify the immigration gods, it's still a risky venture to walk through those doors. They have total and complete power over you. They get to decide whether or not your stay should be extended, whether or not your employment warrants you staying, whether or not your business is sufficient to warrant you staying. It boils down to the very real fact that they can kick you out just because they feel like it or they don't like you. And, let me tell you, the threats are ugly.

Just a couple weeks ago we were about a week late for our monthly immigration visit. I have had awful troubles with Kraken and getting my crypto into my bank, and that was the only way we were going to be able to pay for it. This landed me in a 2 hour lecture during which I was threatened with deportation, arrest, having my children taken, just for starters. I had to talk about everything I do and what all my plans are. I had to justify homeschooling. I had to try to explain how we magically live off so little money. I had to try to explain Steemit. Everything. My whole life under a microscope. And I have not committed any crime other than being one week late one time in almost three years. I applied for permanent residency more than a year and a half ago. Do I consider the possibility of putting my children in school to avoid further scrutiny?

I'm a college educated white girl from the US. I cannot imagine facing that as a black or brown immigrant coming into the US or Europe. Immigration officers have been known to ask for money, sex, or other favors in exchange for extensions. We had a huge hullabaloo last year with immigration here in Belize because officials were essentially selling permanent residency. Some wealthy folk had permanent residency status before they even arrived in the country. So people go underground. And they just pray they don't get caught. More often than not they still have jobs and pay taxes. They contribute to their local economies and communities.

Eventually some get caught, of course. In the US, an immigrant's status can simply expire, and if the extension doesn't get granted, though they have done nothing wrong, they can be deported. This process regularly involves tearing families apart. It regularly involves sending people to countries they know almost nothing about. It regularly involves sending people into dangerous situations. I read a story recently of a woman whose ex husband had been deported for abusing her. He had threatened multiple times to kill her if she ever returned to their country of origin. She was deported anyway, had to leave her children behind with her mother, and was murdered by her ex within a week. Parents being separated from their children happens all the time because of immigration. Like I said, I was threatened with it. To me, an imaginary line drawn on a map is an unimaginably stupid reason to tear apart a family.

According to BID, an organization helping UK families with one or both parents facing deportation, UK Immigration has quite a callous attitude on the matter, "We experienced cases in which the Home Office argues that a parent-child bond won't be harmed by deportation because communication via Skype is possible." Yes, really.

Not surprisingly the American Psychological Assocciation disagrees. They have found that children whose parents have been deported or are simply illegal and living under the threat of deportation are far more likely to be suffering from PTSD, anxiety, and depression. And no wonder. In addition to the constant state of fear, illegal immigrants are far less likely to report abuse, rape, or other crimes. They are also less likely to seek proper health care or services like food stamps or Medicaid, even if the children are citizens.

Honestly I don't believe in countries and borders. I think we need to move beyond all that. I understand people not wanting criminal behavior going down in their neighborhoods. Maybe we can look at how to create more economic justice. Maybe we can help people who have addictions. And if we must have borders and separate countries, then maybe we can look at giving people a path to becoming legal rather than destroying families. A couple months ago I watched a video of a man being deported. His wife and daughter clung to him, sobbing. His son, probably 14 or so, gave his dad a hug, but the look on his face was anger. I sat there crying and thinking this kid is going to end up getting in horrible trouble. Something has to change.

Anyone know what happened to this lovely lady?

If you are interested in some hard numbers, you can find them on this site

All pictures are mine, Pixabay, or sourced in the caption

I am grateful to be a passenger on the ecoTrain. Check out @ecotrain for amazing writing from giant hearted people making a big difference in the world.
image.png

Sort:  

YES, YES, A MILLON TIMES YES! Where to start with this?

Firstly, brilliant article, upvoted, resteemed etc.

My family and I are deeply intwined in this issue due to Brexit. I am British my wife is Spanish. Losing my right to free movement, a right I cherish, has led to my wife getting British naturalisation and to us moving the entire family here to Spain so I can get my Spanish citizenship.

I am writing this in my mobile which I hate but will be posting later about the effects of this and some testimonials.

Thank you for highlighting the issue

Thank you so much. I am glad you liked the article and appreciate the upvote, resteem and comment! I am sorry to hear you are also dealing with this issue. It's so ridiculous and leaves so many families totally vulnerable and under absurd and unnecessary stress. Following you and will look forward to your post. Feel free to leave me a note when you post it so I don't miss it. It's an important issue, and we need to make some noise about it!

great article lady! it really touched on the heart of this core issue that is such a pain in the ass for so many. ini and i are both privileged white folk and we still had a multi year thing with incredibly inconvenient visits to get him to be able to live her (he's from canada)... as it is, i've never made above the poverty level and as it stands, you must have over 30-40$ k a yr to be able to bring someone over. that person cannot work for the year to 2 years while they are getting their permanent residency, so you must support them... my mom vouched for us and she had to have all of her tax returns for like the last 10 years. (good thing shes an accountant!).... after all of that plus around $2k and going hours away for 8 am appointments with the probing officers where we had to show pictures and shared bills, etc... after a few years, it expired and we had to pay more money and show up for another inconvenient meeting. holy cow! really if you are poor and don't have anyone with means to lean on, you cannot do it... no wonder people live subverting the system. the thing about the person immigrating not being able to work really got me. so what's the person supposed to do for that YEAR TO 2 YEARS? twiddle their thumbs and volunteer while the spouse holds down the income? WTF?!

The monetary requirement is absurd. The requirement to not work is absurd, and I don't know if y'all looked into it, but if you want to come through the work route, it's even more absurd. An employer has to go through all these hoops, and then wait years and years. It's outrageous. It's slightly better here, of course, but we do have to go in every month and pay $250 each month. It's getting old and feels ridiculous to have to be harassed on top of that.

Great article @solarsupermama! I agree that the world's borders are out of date and the bureaucratic routine is very unpleasant to deal with. I belive that world is going to change but we should not expect it overnight%)) At the same time, it takes our actions of raising the questions, making our problems and experience visible - and you did it perfectly in this article! I hope all is going to be fine with your documents and send you some light and love! Be blessed!
Re-imagining borders

Image Source

Thank you, @sashagenji! Change is indeed slow, but truly she's a coming. Like you said, as we expose each of these wounds and shine truth on them, the healing begins. Our next immigration is this coming Friday, so good juju is most appreciated!!

great article, I really donot understand the whole immigration fiasco, we should be allowed to move freely as long as we are not hurting anyone or the environment we move from and too. As with all things, money talks and gets things done. I feel very lucky living in a vechile as we can always move on.
Borders I'm with you on that too, all these divisions, we need to be coming together.
Don't get me started on immigration in Europe, so many Europeans are travelling the world at any given moment and yet they don't want to let others in to here, especially from war torn countries.
I'm so sorry you had to go through all that stress recently, I had no idea it could be like that x at least it is behind you xx

I agree. I don't get the whole borders bit. Ultimately it's a money issue, and that's sad. People are dying, and that should take precedence. I wanted to tag this under family protection because it's one more thing destroying families, but I didn't want to hijack their tag, and I wasn't sure how they feel about immigration. Anyway, we unfortunately are due to go back to immigration next Friday. It's a once a month deal. Hopefully they'll just let me in and out like they usually do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81