You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Solar power project step 3, circuit designs for charging / power out switch for continuous(ish) use, and new batteries

in #ecotrain6 years ago

If you would like the help, I would be happy to coach you. You have a good start here, and since you are using a microprocessor there are some things you can do to enhance your system.

On Amp/Hour ratings, a 7AH battery will provide 7 amps for one hour, or 1 amp for seven hours. Unfortunately for your fuse, it will also provide 14 amps for half an hour, depending on the load.

Very detailed post, good work too!

Sort:  

Hi @smithlabs, listen thanks a lot for your comment, I took a break from social media for a while so I am only seeing this now. Thanks! I developed the system a bit further so I'm planning on posting about that in the next few days.

You know what you made me realise with this post, that the draw doesn't stop at whatever the rating is at 1 hour! I just made a mental error that it would at most give 7 amps, not that that would ramp up massively to meet the draw. So thanks.

Glad I could help! There are current limiter circuits, but they are more difficult. Batteries are not in any way smart, it is more like a team of horses. They will run until they drop, unless you control them! You are the driver, and you have to pull back on the reins, by controlling the load. Then you also have to run the brake, to keep them from running away; by installing a fuse or a breaker.

Have a lot of fun, and I hope you get a lot of free power!

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69