You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Little Changes, Big Difference: Reusable Bags

in #ecotrain6 years ago

We were actually the first state to initiate a plastic bag ban (tax, we pay extra for them) a few years ago. I didn't think too much of it personally until I found myself grocery shopping frequently from the beginning of 2018.

I used to buy reusable everytime I went to the store, but the change adds up to a lot over time. I also despised calling a cab home or carrying heavy bags in an attempt for one trip.

I do enjoy cleaner beaches, and knowing that our marine life in the islands are doing better these days. I now carry totes for shopping, and if it's going to be a lot—I remember to bring my shopping cart.

Looking back at it now, using plastic bags is in every sense of the word wasteful. Thank you for providing a nice post with information regarding living more environmentally friendly!

P.S. I've seen those keychain bags! They come in a lot of cute designs :3

Sort:  

They're definitely wasteful, and it's so easy to see them as just a little thing because they mash up so small. It definitely adds up, though. It's good to hear it's making a difference there. They are getting ready to ban them here. I can't wait. We have way too many turtles and other marine mammals here for that mess. I loved my keychain bag and used it for years until it started shredding. So glad you enjoyed the post.

Oh yeah, I bet Belize could definitely use that ban. Litter can get really bad if left unchecked, and I see recycling as necessary. I need to go find a place to get a nifty keychain bag too c:

Indeed. People still throw shit out the windows here. It's awful. I used to see those keychain bags at health food stores. God knows what they charge for them there, though.

One benefit of having tourism as our main export I suppose, there are hefty fines for throwing things where they shouldn't be. True, every time there's a good cause, someone is making money on the side!

Its a huge thing here too, and the biggest complaint of tourists is trash, but its so hard to change people here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55