You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our 1st Week Living Off-Grid!!!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Very nice, thank you for the help and thank you for the follow of course!
So, what is the reason behind 24v instead of 12v? Just a concern about the 12v wireing already installed in our camper, would't I have to than change to 24v led bulbs, water pump and other various mechanical things that are already in?

I also heard Costco had good 6v batteries for a descent price. Iwill look into it for sure.

We are on a plateau somewhay in the middle of a valley, windy it is but I'm not sure if it is enough... I gage that out over time. I'm not quite ready for windmills!

Thank you for the advice... going over to your blog now!

Sort:  

I just relooked at your photo of the extension cord plugged into your camper. It is marked 120/240 volt, powered by your 120 volt inverter from your car. Is this charging your 12v battery only? Are your lights/water pump etc. running off 12 volt ? If this is the case, I would not rewire anything and stay with 12v for now. 24 volt is just so much better for larger loads tv, microwave, refrigerator. I started with 12volt too. I think you are going to have a very nice place! :)

Basically yes! It charges the battery, but there is also wireing for 110v accross the camper for the microwave (which we took out actually), outlets, a couple light fixtures and a ceiling fan. So while the inverter runs off the car, we also charge our phones and power tool batteries.

When we build a solar shed system I will look hard into 24v.

Thank you so much, we do want the place to be very nice and beautiful 😁!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64