Herbal Allies 1. Cheerful Chickweed

in #ecotrain7 years ago

fullsizeoutput_9a3.jpeg

This is one of the most wonderful little wild salad greens... and it can be found in winter!
Succulent, delicious, crisp and juicy leaves, with a lettuce-like flavor. Packed full of essential nutrients... Sometimes when you find her she is growing in a huge patch! This is a favorite here at our farm.

We have eaten many a salad with chickweed as the main ingredient. (Pairs well with Autumn Olive Berries, Smoked Salmon and Red Wine Vinaigrette, such was the salad we ate when we were on top of a mountain in North Carolina so many years ago.... The Autumn Olive shrubs were growing above a blanket of chickweed!)

Stellaria Media is the latin name, but there are several other varieties of Stellaria. Her little flowers resemble stars, and she is so delicate. This plant can also be a "ferocious?" weed in some gardens...

fullsizeoutput_9bb.jpeg

When she is past her prime and gone to flower and seed, her leaves and stems get too tough to enjoy, and then it makes an excellent treat for the chickens...

Chickweed is a prime example of a concept that is dear to me- Food As Medicine -the idea that traditional foods are our best "medicines"; by nourishing our bodies we can avoid health problems and achieve well-being.

High in minerals and calcium, chlorophyll, potassium, proteins and carotenes, Chickweed is also a decent source of Vitamin C, fiber and other essentials...

This plant does contain saponins, such as certain beans and other foods. So I always advise people to do their own research before consuming any new wild foods/herbal medicines. Saponins may not be safe to eat in large quantities, or for pregnant women (according to some sources)

The Little Star Lady, as she is called by some, is said to have a cooling effect on the energy of a (firey) person...

Medicinally Chickweed may be supportive to the glands and may have some positive resolution for certain types of cysts and worts. I think one of the most well known uses for this herb is a topical skin application for itching, irritations and rashes.

I have a lot of faith in herbal medicines and have been using them successfully for many years for all sorts of things. I have found that herbs work best as preventative medicines, and in combination with healthy diet and adequate excersize.

Herbal Allies is a new series of posts I will be doing once or twice weekly that focus on an herb that grows here in Midwest/ Eastern North America, and it's edible, medicinal and utilitarian uses. My hope is to entertain and spark the interest in fellow Steemians about our herbal friends/allies.... I have been working with plants since childhood and using herbs extensively as a folk/lay herbalist for over a decade.

Stay tuned for my next Herbal Allies posts: Grandmother Comfrey and Black Walnut

fullsizeoutput_992.jpeg

Sort:  

I’ll be following with interest! Getting better acquainted with herbs and their many uses is on my long-range to do list!

How do you prepare and use chickweed as the topical application for skin issues?

Very good question! The best way is to crush the fresh plant leaves and juicy stems (such as by chopping or using a mortar and pestle) and apply as a poultice directly to the rash area. I have also done this and saved for later use by freezing in bits in ice cube trays... and then thawing out to use when needed.

In my practice, when outside a quick chew works great if you get bit too!

Great idea to do a series about herbal medicine.
Many people are looking to Ayurveda for solutions, which is a start, but forget that every country, every culture has its own Ayurveda, albeit called by another name. It´s also always best to use local plants, which are there for a reason, instead of importing some exotic miracle plant, just because it´s the latest fad.

I agree, it's always best to use what is around you as the land has it's way of being very in-tune to what our bodies need.

Yes!!! @trucklife-family, this is so true...

@likedeeler, I agree. Every country and region has a plethora of amazing herbal allies! It is so good to get to know the ones that grow around you... All peoples all over the world have used herbs for food and medicine, and each and every culture has unique folk ways of working with the plants. I find it fascinating.

Do you believe that I just published about chickweed as well? More like a note about chickweed, because I really love the photo I took of this micro eye candy..

Oh my!!! I did not know this!!! I will definitely head over and check it out.. Funny, when I went out to the frozen greenhouse yesterday, I spied this little gal right outside the door. Then I too was excited to post about her...

Well, my post is from last years experience, yet I was very enchanted by this little fellow. I am on the last bits of transferring my old, dormant blog onto steemit as a kind of a introduction time. The chickweed post comes from there.

Great post @schoonercreek, herbal medicine is one of my passions also, the land provides so much for us.

Thank you very much. I feel the same way. I have immense gratitude for this land...

I love chickweed. Was just watching the hens pick at her yesterday. One of my fav herbal allies. Great post! Resteemed!

Thank you!!! Yes she is a friend of many :)

Ooooh, I wonder if I can find or grow this in Bulgaria! :)

I like the sound of this new series of yours.

Hope the sun is shining.

xox

Thank you! It is quite rainy here today, supposed to turn to snow! I would imagine there must be some variety of Stellaria in Bulgaria...

Excited for this series! Chickweed is a longtime friend of mine.

Great, thank you for stopping by! She is a well loved herb my many, indeed!

Excellent post! I love chickweed! This year I was blessed with weeding a garlic bed that had been"invaded" by chickweed. I got to dry several pounds which I have been using for regular infusions. Lately I learned from Susun Weed that chickweed tincture can help as a "gentle" lymph node mover, so I will like to make some tincture next time I get a chance to harvest some fresh Chickweed.

I haven't had too many chickweed salads and inspired by your post I would love to include some more on my plate in the near future :)

Wonderful! Thank you... Yes Susan Weed is a wise elder when it comes to herbs and many things.. I enjoy her books very much! I too am interested in the lymph cleansing activities of chickweed.

@schoonercreek Herbal Medicine! Getting back to nature! I practice herbal medicine with my family. A great "cooling" tea can be made with chickweed. Cleavers, chickweed, burdock, and dandelion may help reduce the heat symptoms from itchy rashes. Look forward to your work.

Hello! Thank you. Yes, all of those herbs are also favorites... I have not combined them before, thank you for sharing!

great herb profile! I haven't worked too much with chickweed but I do know of its virtues. I look forward to creating some chickweed salads!! I will for sure be reading your Herbal Allies series. I love herbal medicine. Take care <3

Thank you very much for the thoughtful comment! You too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62