Wild Medicine: Pedicularis densiflora

in #ecotrain6 years ago

There are these red flowers popping up all over the place here along roads and at the feet of trees.

They belong to the genus Pedicularis which includes hundreds of species widespread along northern United States and other temperate regions.

I recommend viewing an image search for Pedicularis and you might recognize one in your region... in any case they are all beautiful. Pedicularis have fern like leaves and flower stalks are spike like inflorescence.

In the case of this region in Southwest Oregon the species Pedicularis densiflora is common.

pedicularis.jpg

Pedicularis includes common names such as Elephant's Head (due to the flower shapes of some of the species), Betony (not to be confused with Stachys betonica which is also known as Betony), Lousewart and Indian Warrior.

Pedicularis is found in woodland and mountainous areas, usually at higher elevations. In this case Pedicularis densiflora can be found at lower elevations in Western North America.

pedicularis1.jpg

The flowering stalk of Pedicularis is used for its sedating effects which can help relax muscles, including skeletal muscles and the cerebrum. In general it is recognized for helping reduce tension and anxiety. Somewhat akin to St. John's Wort, though I have heard it is even more effective in this area.

In the past Pedicularis has also been used for stomach ulcers, rheumatism and urinary problems.

The root apparently tastes like parsnips and can be eaten in moderation.

IMG_20180328_192651.jpg

Pedicularis can be a tree root parasite but it is not necessarily a parasite. Pedicularis can attach itself to a host root after reseeding it's children may not find a nearby root to attach to and are not necessarily parasitic.

While Pedicularis is a perennial, they may be wiped out from forest fires. Pedicularis that have attached themselves to a host have a better chance of surviving fires.

Most interestingly, parasitic Pedicularis will also take on characteristics of their host, which can include either medicinal actions or toxins. So care should be taken when harvesting Pedicularis to understand the hosts which they are growing with.

pedicularis2.jpg

I tasted some flowering stalks and within a short time did feel a light relaxing effect coming over me. It was fairly bitter, not quite as bitter as wormwood but getting close. Because of it's bitterness its not a medicine I would look forward to taking as a decoration or infusion, so while I am drying some flowers for infusions I am also going to experiment with Pedicularis as a tincture.

IMG_20180328_202342.jpg

IMG_20180328_202857.jpg

Please be careful not to over harvest any wild plants by choosing only a small amount of the population so that it has a chance to reproduce. In the chance of Pedicularis you can also only harvest "child" plants that are not attached to a host.

In any case you should read as much as you can about a wild plant before working with it including identification and warnings.

References:

Medicinal Plants of the Mountain West by Michael Moore

Edible and Medicinal Plants of the West by Gregory L. Tilford

pedicularis3.jpg



Who is @sagescrub?

I am a ex-suburbanite turned permaculture homesteader. Follow my journey and I will share what I know and am learning along the way. You can learn more about me in my re-introducing @sagescrub post. Wishing you abundance in your life!

Know that I am likely NOT an expert on the subjects I present. Please do your own research and be your own expert!


Proudly Contributing To:

homesteaders-online.png
#homesteadersonline | Website | Discord Community

ecotrain.png
#ecotrain | What is ecoTran? | Discord Community

Sort:  

I have never seen these before! But now that we are living in Michigan, I will have a look around!

Very intereating with the parasitism in such a plant....that is new to me!

Peace

Thanks for your comment :) I enjoy learning about wild plants that I find around me! Yeah the parasite aspect was new to me too and very fascinating.

This made me think of Indian Paintbrush. I looked it up and they are the same family but a different genus.

That's exactly what I thought it was at first glance.

Coincidentally one common name for Pedicularis is Indian Warrior.

COOl! You’re fortunate to have that species. I have tried it once in flower essence form used as a sedative like you said. I really enjoyed it! Love their little elephant heads too. Great post! Love to see plants from your region in herbal profiles like this that you’re excited about using 😊💚🌿

Interesting... thanks for sharing that tidbit about the flower essence of Pedicularis. Thank you @mountainjewel, I'll definitely post more herbal/plant profiles in the future as they show up in my life :)

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts, upvoted and resteemed. Sotall curates posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

now I want to go find some here. Awesome post!

Thank you :) Let me know if you find any Pedicularis over there. I'd be curious to know which one it is if you do.

Thank you for what you have given me and I will be glad and proud to have friends who are able to give me knowledge and experience like you @sagescrub

Thank you for you post @sagescrub, I have to pay more attention when I go to jungle next time, I may have seen the species but not sure yet

Regards

That would be interesting if Pedicularis had some tropical species... I don't know!

i never seen this kind of plant is looks very nice, specially if it is very healthy for us, better.
best regard.

Simple and super informative. Thank you so much for posting. Looking forward to hearing more!

Thank you for your nice note!

Thank you these are beautiful plants and the medicinal affects sound good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53