Food For Surviving the Present Day Apocalypse

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I am surviving in this world. I am experiencing a catastrophe. Its slow, subtle and elusive. It brings on diseases and death.

I am talking about the hyper domestication of humans and the under nourishment of our over fed society.

In order to survive this catastrophe I am moving my body and nourishing myself. This is the only way I will survive.

Part of nourishing myself includes learning to grow my own food as well as eating what mother nature provides. I am looking forward to this coming season because I am planting many types of plants that I have never grown before a few of which include:

  • Oats
  • Wheat
  • Quinoa
  • Flax
  • Sesame
  • Millet
  • Cumin

I am branching out into more grains, seeds and starches because I want to see what it would take to grow more of the food I commonly eat in my diet, or food that can replace some of my common staples. For example I like to eat a lot of granola - If I can grow my own oats and seeds that would help me sustain more of my diet.

Celebrate Abundance!

In this meal I am celebrating abundance. Abundance in my pantry, abundance in my fridge, abundance in the supermarket, abundance in the farmer's market, abundance in the weeds growing all around me, abundance in nature

I am thinking about the coming season and the abundance that I hope my garden will provide. I am clearing out room in the freezer of dandelion greens, kale and nettle that I harvest and froze last fall because there are so many greens available wild in the garden now and soon there will be many in the garden.

I am slowly eating the frozen tomatoes that have been with me since last October... trying hard to pace them out because it will be a few months until this year's tomatoes arrive. But if I eat them all much earlier, no matter because now that spring is here there is abundance outside my door and all around me in many forms.

In this meal I included frozen dandelion greens, ground paprika, poppy seeds and beets. I didn't hold back with any of them because today I am celebrating abundance.

Celebrating the abundance of dandelion greens that carried me through the winter and that are now all around me. Celebrating the abundance of spices that I am able to purchase in the store so easily.

This year I am growing my own paprika peppers and @idyllwild is excited about all the poppies she is sowing. If all goes well we will have an abundance of home grown paprika peppers and poppy seeds to go along with all the abundance of dandelion greens that are already in the garden and that we can count on being there with us right into the fall.

If we don't get any paprika or poppy seeds from our efforts, no worries. We will still have the dandelion greens and many other veggies and wild foods in abundance around us.

In addition I couldn't help but include one of the last two beets from a box of beets that I purchased from a local farmer last fall. These beets are symbolic to me as they belong to the collection of locally grown nutritious food that sustained me through the winter. I am grateful that they lasted this long. I am grateful that I don't have to worry about having food on my plate today.

Spring is here and there is abundance all around me. I am not holding back in this meal... its a celebration!

pan.jpg

The only way I can survive the catastrophe of hyper domestication and undernourishment of an over fed society is by moving my body and nourishing myself.

The byproduct of this action is appreciation for the abundance that is around me. I am no longer taking it for granted.

  • Every year the amount of food on my shelves that was purchased at a store and is a part of the industrial food chain decreases.

  • The amount of food on my shelves that I grew or wild harvested is growing in volume every year.

Don't get me wrong, I still appreciate the convenience of industrial food, but I do not appreciate it the way I appreciate home grown, locally grown or wild harvested food.

I do not have a goal to be 100% self sustaining by a certain date.

My goal is to keep learning about nourishing myself and growing food. I want to keep pushing my own personal limits of how much of my diet I can grow and the amount of diversity I can include in my diet.

There are so many unique and diverse types of plants in this world!

Working on my goal doesn't take much motivation because I am pretty excited about it already. That motivation comes from the joy I receive in the garden and in nature. It comes from knowing that my body feels better after it has been nourished with good food and time moving outdoors.

This is survival

Surviving is knowing that I have food through the winter and if I get snowed in for three months it doesn't matter. That is a by product of wanting to have food I personally grew or harvested right throughout the winter. That is a byproduct of wanting to minimize, within reason, the amount of industrial or imported food that I consume.

Survival is knowing that I am being nourished by every meal I eat, thereby reducing my chances for disease. That is a byproduct of growing and foraging a substantial part of my diet.

I am surviving the apocalypse that we are all witnessing which is hitting us and our family members from all angles. Diabetes, heart disease, lethargy, arthritis, autism to name just a few.

I was not prepared for this apocalypse but luckily I was awakened to the problem and I am learning to survive with my wits, my body and help from my friends. The apocalypse is happening all around me. It may come for me one day, but I will be strong, nourished and ready when it does.

So today I am celebrating because I am surviving. I am celebrating the abundance that has come into view before me. This abundance that was hidden from my perceptions for so long. Now I see it in plain view.

I am wishing you abundance in your life, in your heart and on your plate.

omelette.jpg



Who is @sagescrub?

I am a ex-suburbanite turned permaculture homesteader. Follow my journey and I will share what I know and am learning along the way. You can learn more about me in my re-introducing @sagescrub post. Wishing you abundance in your life!

Know that I am likely NOT an expert on the subjects I present. Please do your own research and be your own expert!


Proudly Contributing To:

homesteaders-online.png
#homesteadersonline | Website | Discord Community

ecotrain.png
#ecotrain | What is ecoTran? | Discord Community

Sort:  

This is fantastic, we are constantly changing and learning like our environment, we need to embrace that and celebrate all the abundance. I love your outlook and very realistic and empowering goals, to keep learning and to adapt. Love this post @sagescrub resteemed xx I'm so with you lets celebrate abundance.

Thank you @trucklife-family! Steemit and homesteading help me take more empowering actions!

Nice. I like your approach better than the hard-line (and often in denial) people who imagine they will plant a homestead and be totally self-sufficient. It's so much healthier and reality-based to want to learn about the life all around you!

Either way its a good goal to be self sufficient... but a lot to take on all at once. Baby steps are necessary for the new homesteader :) I definitely want to live in a world of appreciation of all that we have! Thanks for your uplifting comment :)

I made it a duty to restart my garden. Nothing beats fresh foods

Yay! I'm glad you are inspired to garden :) For those of us that enjoy gardening, the rewards are so great!

Look delicious!

I applaud your efforts and share the sentiment that food grown by yourself is a gift. I also try to grow more and depend less on industrial sources of sustenance, although admittedly for me it is a small portion, but I think this planting may be my biggest thus far.

Nice! Annual grains will be great to cover the basics during the first years, while your perennial trees are growing. Once you get some fruits and nuts going, they will benefit not only you, but also other creatures, which in the end can feed you too.

Beautiful meditation. May your life-lesson continue to bear much fruit!
(A super answer to my former question, a joy to read.)

Looks so yummy, can't wait to see the grains and seeds u grow!

Home made and farming is the best option. I used to live that way, now I am in the town and I can see and feel the difference.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sagescrub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99