You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I have never voted in a general election!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Whilst many people say that it is our duty to vote, I believe VERY strongly that it is in fact our duty to abstain from voting.

I loved Brands view on it and I wish he wasn't dismissed as a nutter. In Australia is is compulsory to vote. However the fine isn't a lot for me to pay and like others I know I pay it rather than enter the farce. However for those less financially set up than me its impossible. It really would take critical mass for it to make a big difference. Oh.. for critical mass!!!

It is NOT the government who run our country, we need to understand this. It is our governments who prevent change, hold us back, and make sure that as much money as possible is in their control and direction.

Yes yes yes.

Oh.. and a teeny edit.. last word is planet I think? Thanks for this awesome read xx

Sort:  

Whaaaaat!!! are you serious! its compulsory to vote.. omg.. now ive heard it all! and they fine you if you dont.. looolll. that is extremely hilarious!

and WELL spotted on the typo!!!

Oh
and
in the UK Brand is far from considered a nutter.. but perhaps in Oz he is..

Yep. Since 1924. And no one questions it as it is so ensconced in the nation's psyche. My uncle hasn't voted EVER. He just pays the fine. So do we now but for years no way could we afford it. Hence... donkey votes. People love drawing penises on their vote cards. Ah.. Australia...

I'd rather spoil my ballot paper than give money to a government that did that. I've always wanted to vote for the Monster Raving Loony party in the UK but unfortunately, there's never been a candidate in my constituency

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50