You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Less Food Waste (Sharing Is Caring)

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I think large supermarkets here still chuck a lot of perfectly good food out.

I've been on both sides of this - I had a brief spell temping at ASDA for a couple of weeks once XMAS and part of my job was to fill the bin up with out of date food - they checked bags on the way out so you couldn't take any! The amount of stuff that got chucked.

I also used to skip dive when I was unemployed - a few times a week, me and my friends must have got about half our food from Sainsbury's skips. One night they put padlocks on, we came back the next night with bolt cutters only to find that some other skip divers had beaten us to it!

I remember halloween being particularly good fun - so many pumpkins in those bins, way too many to carry.

There have been outcries from time to time for supermarkets to cut down their food waste, but i haven't heard much about what they're doing to reduct it recently. I know there are some charities which collect it and cook it to feed those in need, which is very sensible!

Sort:  

they checked bags on the way out so you couldn't take any!

I think that employees here are also not really allowed to take it but sometimes they can get away with it.

One night they put padlocks on, we came back the next night with bolt cutters only to find that some other skip divers had beaten us to it!

This seems to be quite an adventure! And I can imagine how it used to look like after Halloween with the pumpkin overload.

I know there are some charities which collect it and cook it to feed those in need

This is such a great iniciative! Collaboration between charities and supermarkets would be so beneficial for everyone really.

Thank you for sharing your experience, it was good to hear from someone who has been on both sides of this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44