You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Forgotten Plants | 6 Perennial Vegetables Bought With Steem Planted!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I was given some Jerusalem artichokes and have been growing them every year, but still not tried to eat them, lol. I am a food-chicken!

I grabbed some horseradish someone was giving away, so have that too (again, not tried any). I like having diversity, and the more heirloom the better.

Last week I put in an order for seeds, so they should arrive any day now. Some I can plant now (autumn) but some will wait for spring. I also bought a few more fruit trees which I must find spaces for. (I think my design plan has turned into random-this'll do here.)

At least autumn sees leaf drop, which I will be happily collecting for the compost. yay Bumblebees are still around, so I can't cut back any of my over-enthusiastic flowers - such as the Nepeta (not sure if it is catmint or some other variety). I can finally begin to take cuttings off trees such as the Elderberry to start off new plants.

With all this gardening work to do, I really should stop being on Steemit so much ... :D

Sort:  

Haha

With all this gardening work to do, I really should stop being on Steemit so much ... :D

I hear you here! I’ve definitely been slowing down my efforts here as life is taking over 😊 so much to plant!

Sounds like you have your hands full with a vibrant and bustling ecosystem! Congrats!! Glad to hear the bumblebees are still around and you’re leaving the flowers for them 😁 our catnip just returned and our kitties are very happy about that!

Can’t believe you haven’t tried the sunchokes! You may really like them 😉 I personally love the flavor and texture. Cut up fresh or lightly sautéed. Which fruit trees will you be planting? Happy perennial gardening!! 💚🌿

I've been meaning to get my new trees to pose for some photos, which I can then turn into another good Steemit post (and stall on planting them). :D

Catnip - I've only ever had one cat who actually wasn't indifferent to it. Found him curled up asleep in the flowerpot the stuff was planted in, lol. I feel like all the other cats have been genetic freaks because they haven't gone mad over the stuff!

Do you grow sunflowers, and harvest the seeds for use in cooking? I am looking for hulling & storage tips, because last year's attempt wasn't successful and I hate seeing a harvest go to waste.

Hmmm we haven’t used the seeds from our sunnies for cooking, but Ini does use them often for growing microgreens! That’s an easy way to get them to pop out of their own shells lol oddly enough we’re just now seeing some sunflower volunteers from plants from last year. Kind of exciting, but sorry I can’t be of help here. That’s a great idea; to use them in cooking!!

Hilarious about your cat in the pot! My cat wasn’t interested til she got a bit older, I thought she must be one of these anomalies of which you speak 😉 hehe it is kinda weird when they’re not into it. We’re like their parent drug pushers- what?! You aren’t into catnip?! lol

Looking forward to your posed fruit trees. Fingers crossed that they consent to a photo shoot! Xo

The way the weather has been behaving, it'll be the Swimsuit & Snorkel edition of Fruit Tree Monthly. :D

Hahaha 🎉🤪🎉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68916.78
ETH 3733.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73