Start your Memoir NOW (or Blog about your life). Have it be a Record of Our Times...

in #ecotrain5 years ago

When's the best time to start writing your memoirs?
Right now!
It would have been better to start writing them when you were a child.
That memoir can be a record of our times.
If you have children that like to write, encourage them to start their memoir.

writer silloquette writing is more powerful than you think.jpg

Here's a complimentary book to get your children, or any beginner writer, writing

Bringing Out the Potential of Children. Writers/ Authorscover Potential Writers with vinnette resized 1000 dpi.jpg

Read the flip book copy at: https://flipbook.publishing.design/view/9811/2346

A bonus here, if you write your memoir on Steemit, then it's recorded on the blockchain.
How cool is that!

If you don't want your memoir to be a record of the times, try writing about yourself in the context of where you came from and who you are. Doing this can have many benefits including being happier, healthier and more engaged in life.
Include in that, where you are going and it can make your path through life, simpler and more rewarding.

If you really want to dive into this type of writing, Jordan Peterson has developed a program called the Self Authoring Program

The Self-Authoring Suite is a series of online writing programs that collectively help you explore your past, present and future.

Listen in to the intro about this course:

Have you ever thought of why you remember your past? If you think about it, really the only reason you remember your past is to be prepared for the future.
Think about that -
If you can gain some wisdom from your past experiences, it can set you on a more rewarding path in the future.

writer silloquette writing is more powerful than you think.jpg

Want to find out more about how powerful writing can be, especially writing your autobiography -

I hope this encourages you to get writing! Get started now1 Start with where you are, with what you've got, just START!

Thanks for stopping by!
I love engaging with folks here so please feel free to leave any comments or questions,
if you found this post beneficial an Upvote is appreciated.

If you enjoyed this post,
Please don’t hesitate to follow me here on Steemit - @porters

Sort:  

Writing was never my skill set school yet now, years after, I feel a connection to writing. Usually about a topic of gardening or self help, but this course sounds like a good guidance into self analysis and process to move through life's "problems". Like your own psychiatrist 😊.
If anyone has taken the course and would be willing to share that with us, please do. Let me know what you found helpful and what you felt may have been missing.

Posted using Partiko Android

I had been writing a series of books but I was getting a bit burnt out so I let it be for a bit but since coming to Steemit and joining some of the different communities I've been inspired to write again but this time often with even more depth and on a more personal level. Gardening has always been my thing too and love sharing my gardening experiences. This year it was my indoor gardening project to be able to grow food all year long. I'm happy with how it is going. Also I live in a forest so harvesting from the wild and enhancing nature has been another passion.
Had you heard about the gardening journal challenge? You may want to enter that at: https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2019/@simplymike/steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-9-january-join-or-resteem-and-win
I never took Jordan Peterson's course but I have been listening to a lot of his lectures and reading his books. I love this concept and have heard of the many benefits it can bring but at this time I'm not ready to devote to much time on delving into that inner work. I lean more towards developing my meditation practice.
I like your comparison -

Like your own psychiatrist 😊!
That would be interesting if anyone had taken it or if they are going to take it, if they would share their finding from it.

It is funny, I have always loved to write, but not about myself! I know so many people who write daily diaries and it is just not my thing.

I do wish I would have started that at a young age though and formed a habit out of it, when you make it a routine it becomes part of your daily life that you would miss if you did not do it.

It is a very generous gift you give to pass on this complimentary book you authored yourself 💕

I know, that would have been so cool to have been writing from a young age, especially if you had it in mind, for it to be a record of your times.
When I look back and and see the different eras I lived through it kind of surprises me but alas memory is kind of fleeting, so it is kind of a shame that folks leave it until they are older to write their memoirs, how much richer and fuller would it be if it were written when the memories were just happening!

I'm finding right now that I want to share that knowledge to who ever is receptive to it and do my part to help folks flourish in different areas.
I think that came about after working with kids for so many years that I love to see their potential blossom and to open doors for them. It gives me great joy to see them flourish.

The other thing besides memoirs is the family history. It too gets lost and then we ask our parents about family members, but by the time we do, they seem to have forgotten 🙁

Good one @thistle-rocks ! We have some of our family history down because of having family members interested in genealogy etc. but there are still many questions I wished I would have asked my parents while they were still alive. One of them is where did my name come from?
My name is Patrice, which I later found out is a french male name, I'm female, and there is no other family member in our family tree with that name. How did they choose that name.
My friend had a great book (journal) she was working on with her grandmother that had different questions to ask to bring out conversations. She could work on it with her grandmother and her grandmother could also answers some of the questions by herself. Lovely way to get some of these memoirs down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52