[Recipe] Earth Deed- Combining Two in One...

in #ecotrain6 years ago

@elamental has put up the challenge to start documenting our Earth conscious efforts with the Earth Deeds - Volume 5 - CONTEST Come join in here.

One thing I like to do is putting things to DOUBLE DUTY!
Use less resources.

Pot of Broth on the Wood Heater

pot of broth on wood stove.JPG

Here I've combined heating our house with cooking a meal.
We heat with wood using a combination wood heater/cook stove.
This stove is a Flameview made by the Amish right here in Canada.
It has a big wood heating box and a thick stainless steel stove top.

I have a big stock pot with a heavy stainless steel bottom which I keep filled with lovely bone broth.

EXTRA BONUS
You always have some nice warm broth waiting for you when you come in from the cold.
I love to froth mine up (just like a Latte) in the blender.

Broth Latte

Ingredients:
3 ladles full of warm bone broth
1 sliver of raw garlic (more if you like garlic)
1 slice fresh ginger root
Pinch of cayenne pepper
1 green onion (optional)
small handful of soaked kelp leaves (optional)
Salt to taste

Directions
Place all ingredients in blender and mix on high til well blended. The fat in the bone broth will make it froth just like a Latte!

Photo taken with my Canon PowerShot A495

Thanks for stopping by!
I love engaging with folks here so please feel free to leave any comments or questions,
if you found this post beneficial an Upvote is appreciated.

If you enjoyed this post,
Please don’t hesitate to follow me here on steemit at @porters

Sort:  

So awesome, I will be retrieving one of these when I obtain my own home one day. I have always wanted one, but this is by far one of the nicer ones I have seen in my time. Freaking awesome, and jealous. Thank you so much for sharing.

We wanted something that we could cook on as well as heat our house plus this you can watch the fire too if you want. My friend had the full heater, cook stove with the oven but our kitchen isn't big enough to support the oven and we have a real big cast iron dutch oven that we can use to cook with on the coals in the heater part if we need to.

I love dutch ovens, we used them in the Boy Scouts all the time. I remember many a night of dump cake and peach cobbler in the woods. Good times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44