You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: As crazy as it might sound ....

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Yep! You've got to be tough to live up north!
It's funny but you don't realize how the cold makes you close up.
I had gone down to Florida for a visit one cold winter and when I got off the plane it was so balmy there and I realized I had been bracing myself for cold when I stepped out the door and when it wasn't there I could relax. I see how folks from the warmer southern areas seem more relaxed and open.
But when spring comes in the northern parts of the country there is such excitement and every body is out and about again.
I agree that summers can be very wonderful there but way too short!
Love your photo tour of Yellowknife! Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

I really never thought of it that way but it's true, you do close up. That is such a perfect way to describe it. Then in spring we reach for the sun just like the flowers. I think maybe you appreciate everything that much more for having been denied the warmth for so long.

What I find hardest here in the maritimes is that there are a lot of overcast days and I miss blue skies - even in winter.

I would miss my sunshine too! I like even the coldest days if I can get my sun! Here in Saskatchewan it is suppose to be one of the sunniest places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66