Of Respect - Ecotrain QOTW

in #ecotrain5 years ago

definition of respect.JPG

I feel the basis of respect is in respecting yourself, who you are, your abilities and character.

Wonderful if we can pick this up at an early age within a nurturing environment.

offer442903_640.jpg

I have a cautionary tale for parents or caregivers in regards to respecting your child's abilities.

It was a sad case of a child who's mother believed she couldn't do anything and the child grew up with learned helplessness.

This can be applied to yourself - you may be far more capable than you think!

Stretch yourself every once in awhile. This helps you grow and with your new success comes confidence.
It's this confidence and courage that will be what often commands respect.
Folks will start to look up to you more for you did it!

Also know that you are worthy of respect.
Value your qualities and others will value them too!

I go back to raising a child. It's quite something if you raise your child to their greatest potential. Bring out those wonderful qualities and help them develop.

text16.png

Now I want to reflect on some times in my life when respect was big for me.
.
I wasn't really wanted as a child for I was the third girl and my parents really wanted a boy.(at least that was the vibe/energy I picked up on and it wasn't lifted until I gave them a grandson)
This effected me a lot in my teen years when I so wanted for someone to love and want me. It is at this age that boys will want you for sexual reasons. I was tempted to trade sexual favors, to be wanted and some how I thought it would bring me love. But that was not the case.

Out at tree planting camp (where there was lots of romances starting up) I befriended a woman who had a wonderful relationship with a fairly popular guy and I saw that it was based on respect.

I was realizing too at this point that I was worthy of respect and changed my action to start commanding respect. I would not tolerate people disrespecting me or treating me poorly.

There was another time in my life when I wanted respect.

After my first marriage broke up because of adultery, I met my now husband and we started hanging out together (I was going to say dating but it wasn't that formal) I had been single for awhile and I loved him and the feeling seemed mutual. I wanted him to marry me, my thinking along the lines of that old-school saying "make an honest woman of me."

I knew respect was important and I made sure my actions portrayed this. The relationship was built on respect and I can say that we've been happily married for nearly 25 years now!

text16.png

For the @ecotrain QOTW you can choose one of the following questions:
"How do you command (not demand) the respect of your friends and peers?"

OR
"What does respect mean to you, who do you respect and why, and how do you demonstrate it?"

OR how ever you feel called to respond on the topic of respect.

Find our more and join in the conversation at: https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-launch-post-respect

text16.png

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe & @earthtribe



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain


MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I like your approach on this from the self respect and commanding respect side. We teach people how to treat us, so if we allow them to disrespect us, then they will.

Posted using Partiko Android

💖💖🙏💖💖

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like this gentle germ of an idea about stretching yourself and doing-being MORE than we think we are capable of... and how that leads to more respect for ourselves, and also from others. NICE original thought contributing to the challenge..


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

@porters, your last few posts have given me quite the picture of you as a free spirited, wild love child of the 1970's! Love it so much! Ugh, parents who want boys and not girls and letyou know it! That's awful. When Dad (Dad again, i know I know) was asked by my uncle if he ever regretted not have a boy he looked at him as if he was crazy - no, he said, why would I? I adore my girls.

Plus,I was the tomboy - omg - revelation - shit. Did I do that to impress my Dad? To be the absent 'boy'? Eeeeeeeeek.... I'm psychoanalysing far too much this week!!!

I know what you mean about self respect - I was quite sexually active and liberal in that way until I met Jamie - we made 'honest' people of each other. But damn, I don't regret it - I also had a lot of fun.

I, too, was a real tomboy and I always wondered if that was because I was trying to be the boy they wanted. Funny how so many things can shape our behavior, things that we aren't even conscious of!

Yes and that's what I mean about destiny or fate... we have no control!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Respect is the glue that hold one's life together.
The old people used to say, "your name is worth more than gold".

Well, I was also a wild child in the 60s, grew up without a dad, motorbike, bell bottoms and free love, but gradually a person grows out of it and today I am a preacher that runs a charity.

Anyone can change and it is posts like this that can sow a seed in some lost souls, that will later flourish like a Cedar tree next to a river.
Blessings!

That was quite a change as you grew up!
Thank-you for that beautiful compliment to my post! I do hope it does help some lost souls!

im so happy this story has a happy ending. Thank you for sharing so deeply.. Respecting ourselves with our choices is the stepping stone to respecting the people we are with. Its not hard to respect, respectable people ;-)

about the kids point.. oh man.. i am SO with you.. thank god i dont have to witness children being disempowered by overbearing parents where I live. ..(on a mountain in India..).. Generally in India the kids are Truly left to their own devices. They run around making fires, throwing fireworks, and all sorts.. The European children who lived here in my community were left totally free.. one little girl Ula could climb enormous trees barefoot, totally fearless..

Id like to share this short you tube with you and your followers.. its really fun to watch, and is something tha we can all learn a lot from!

thanks for taking part this week! <3

Thanks for sharing this video - it really is amazing what kids are capable of when you give them the opportunity or as in this video, give them responsibility. Let them stretch themselves and grow!

Hi @porters!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.487 which ranks you at #6194 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 6189).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 144 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99