You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going Paleo for Ecotrain QOTW Challenge...

in #ecotrain5 years ago

Oh that stove is a great masterpiece and what drew me like a magnet to this post my friend.
My job as a teen was to clean the coal stove EVERY day. Disassemble, wash and wire brush all parts, dry and reassemble. I think that I can still do it with my eyes closed. Our coal stove was also piped to the hot water system of the house.
Some great recipes here!
Blessings!

Sort:  

Yes! We bought this stove for it's ornateness as well as it's functionality. It was made by the Amish right here in Canada.
This serves as our wood heater (for those 30 below Celsius winters) plus for heating stuff up and if the grid or gas supply is cut off (we also have a gas stove) it can easily become our main cooking unit (except in the heat of the summer we would cook outside.
Man that is a lot of cleaning that you had to clean out the coal stove EVERY day! Nice to have two in one with a cook stove and hot water heater. You can hook a unit to the back of this heater for hot water but we didn't purchase that. We do have a big stainless steel kettle that we can heater water with on the top of this heater.

I simply love that stove my friend and the Amish certainly know how to build them. Thank you for the great explanation.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65