You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why You Need to Live for Yourself too and Not Just for Your Kids

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Hi, I loved your post. It caught my attention because I think the same. I do not have children, but I am a daughter, so, for some time now I have noticed a debt that our children must have with our parents, which rather than helping the children's growth and independence, generates anxiety, guilt (for not doing what parents want) frustration (because you do not achieve your own dreams, if not what your parents want) and a lot of dependency. I think that now with all the information you have, these parenting paradigms are changing. I tell you that it would make me happier to see my mom grow up and be in all areas of her life and her dreams, than to see her enslaved to her children. When I have my children I plan to do it differently, everything has its moment and the children, although they are part of your life, are not the universe of your life. I have seen many mothers saying that they only live for their children, I think that this is wrong, they must live for themselves, because in the end they are individuals with needs, dreams, goals.
I have thought about this for a long time, even from a very young age. I do not complain about anything my mom has done for me, I just think (with great respect) I would do it differently. I wish you could do this post in Spanish, I've shared it on Facebook but my followers are Latino, we hope this message reaches many more people. Thank for saying it!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this beautiful comment. You are so right about everything. My mother too feels that one needs to live for her children only because that's what she did and barely has a life of her own which I think isn't fair to her. I don't know Spanish but maybe I could do a translation.

Try to do it and I'll help you correct it, you can write me by discord whenever you want. Thanks to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81