You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bearing in mind the health and state of our western culture and society today, do you think we have too much freedom?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

You do have a knack of writing thought-provoking posts! I agree with your sentiments, and I know what you mean when you suggest that maybe in the "west" we have too much freedom, though I worry that where government is concerned we have too little freedom. However I agree that that kind of freedom HAS to come with responsibilities. I have been writing to local government officials over the last couple of days on a particular issue, so I agree that there's no point just moaning about the government – we are the ones who have to make it work.
As I'm not a parent, I hesitate to voice opinions on how children should be brought up, but I agree with much of what you say on this. There seems to be a phenomenon of parents trying too hard to be liked by their kids, to be seen as "fun". Actually I think it's important for parents to offer guidance rather than indulgence. My niece worked in my cafe between the ages of 13 and 17, and my sister actually said she wanted me to train her to do the washing up and be more disciplined, etc. I once had to send her home for wearing a skimpy top. I had told her that my customers didn't want to see lots of human flesh while they were eating! I think she respected me for the disciplined approach, and we're now great friends.
A friend of mine has served a long prison sentence; thankfully he is now a totally reformed, hard-working and trustworthy member of society. He is a highly intelligent person with a university degree, who in the past held very good jobs. His problems involved alcohol - but what caused him to turn to drink? I once asked him why his life took a wrong turn, and without hesitation he said: "I was spoilt as a child".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54