Sort:  

hmmm good point. I never quite thought about foraging for 20 people on that acerage. I feel it's still quite large for people's homes, growing loads of food and perhaps have a few animals. Lots of people small operation...?

Thanks for the reblog and the thought

i think it is totally doable,, when done properly.. you can grow a HUge amount of food in a small space using permaculture and other techniques such as vertical gardening.. a house doesnt take even half of an acre so that is a lot of land per person to work with..

Thanks Alex, yes I think you're right... I remember Catalyst Community I was with we were going for a 70 acre farm and wantes to be 80 people... all the numbers had been worked out.

Not trying to discourage, just to contribute to the brainstorm. How many people and animals a plot can sustain is all a matter of soil.

You're inspiring me a bit. Lately I've been wanting to rent out our apartment in an attempt to decrease our living expenses. It'd be neat to have a like-minded tennant that'd do some planting and tending. Wheels are turning. This'll take some thought :)

No worries Nate, I didn't take ypur comment as discouragement, I k ow you're just adding to the conversation and it is an important one.

Do ypu habe space to make a loving area for a roomate type? It helps a lot having somepne sharing the cost for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54