The 3 things most important to me in the eco-village of tomorrow? - @EcoTrain QOTW

in #ecotrain5 years ago

This week @EcoTrain QOTW - What are the 3 things most important to me in the eco-village of tomorrow?

Living off the Grid - A dream for many of us. Honestly until I joined Steemit and came across @eco-alex something like this was never on my mind. Though sometimes in our family we used to talk about how we can live minimally. The amount of things that we owe, of it almost more then 50% of it is not required. The amount of gadgets we hold we barely use, the so many things that we get at home half of it is all garb. But still all said and done I don't think I am yet 100% prepared to go completely off the grid but yes 50% for sure. Thankfully me and my husband both are simple people when it comes to our lifestyle, we like to spend our finances on travelling rather than buying expensive gadgets. Once in a while we enjoy our fine dining experiences, but majorly both of us enjoy travelling and we save up a lot for that all the time.

If I have to go off the grid the 3 things that I would like to see in my eco-village of tomorrow will be;

  • I would love to have my own Organic Farm
  • I would want to have my own brand of cosmetics and home utility products made completely from natural products
  • I would love to live in a complete plastic free zone

My own Organic Farm


Day by day my diet is becoming the most important thing for me and to an extent I am now getting very fussy about what I eat, from where it is getting sourced, hygienically is it safe. Considering all of this I feel having my own Organic farm will be the best thing to have around me. Where I will be sure, what is growing, how it is growing and what I will be consuming. And not only that I can also assist my extended family with some healthy food to eat. Rather me and my husband were having a conversation around this sometime back, where we were looking at options for long term when we go back to India where we can look at getting a place away from the city in a small hilly town called Lonavala and doing some farming over there. Let's see how it shapes up, I also have other goals so will need to balance it out. As of now this is not my priority, it is a thought so I do not know how it will work for me.


Source

My own brand of cosmetics and home utility products made completely from natural products


This is for sure on my list and I have already started working on it with the soaps and incense powder, gradually I do want to get into a lot of other things like fruit based Cremes, Face wash, Gels. But I need to first learn, my hands are already full for now so this has taken a back seat but yes slowly gradually one by one I will start learning and then making it. What I want is to make these products in a complete natural way without any chemicals. I do not want to make something very big of this but yes just in a small way I would like to do it and be self sustained. Sometime back I had bought a nail polish, it was a fancy glittery blue color and had worn it, yesterday I removed it and I saw that the blue color is just not coming off the nails and I realized how harmful this product can get and this all the more drives me to come up with natural products which would be healthy for the skin. Except for a lip-wear I have stopped using all other cosmetics but if I can have natural products nothing like it. Home utility products like the phenyl, disinfectants which are so full of chemicals and causing more harm then protection I would want to be completely self sustained with my own home based products and avoiding complete buying of them.


Source

Live in a complete plastic free zone


Last year in Mumbai there was a rule passed to ban plastic completely and it was nice because we could really see the difference of it. The city looked much cleaner, else everywhere you would see plastic garbage and then during rains and with the wind you would see the place completely getting messed up. But over a period of time the rule is getting dissolved and this time when I visited I saw that again at many places people were using plastics and there was all the plastic garbage back on the roads again, which was a sad sight to see. Plastics come in many form, almost every single thing we use in the house has some amount of plastic in it. In the kitchen we have certain amount of plastic containers, when we order food from outside we get them in plastic containers, and there is so much in the day to day utility items that is made of plastics. But it is not that there are no alternative solutions to it. But it would require a whole lifestyle change. If I have a chance I will surely like to bring this change for me to live in a complete plastic free zone.


Source

These are my priorities as of now to create a healthy environment for me and the future generations. With these efforts I am sure we can have a clean and a healthy environment and give a secured future to our generations down the line.
I have been reading @eco-alex posts on why earthships are awesome and there is so much that we can do to go completely off the grid but I feel I am still taking baby steps in this direction and a long way to go for me, but yes that does not mean I turn a blind eye, I will surely like it work around it in my own way.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love;
May Crystals give you the Power"

My other blogs of Interest


"How Different your Life would be, if you knew these were your final days @TribeSteemUp biweekly Question"
"What is my Level of Engagement on Steemit?"
NaturalMedicine Story - My Recipes for making Herbs Incense Powders
"Meaningful Conversations with Children"
Sublime Sunday - Soaking up in the High Energies of Mother Nature

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Sort:  

My own brand of cosmetics and household products made entirely of natural products.

It is a great article.

Amazing blog..! Now most of the Indian states are trying to ban plastic and it's best for all of us but all the peoples are not prepare to ban it. We should determine to avoid from plastic.

That's true it's a collective effort of each individual and not just the government who needs to enforce it as a rule.

fertile plants

Would you actually SEE yourself living in a natural eco-community one day? You can bring your husband... LOL

Liking that you have a plan to return to India and have plans to grow things organically too...


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Very cool. An organic farm is a must.
Larger community projects can include a waste management plant that turns municipal septic wastes to compost into fertilizer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57112.10
ETH 2405.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28