You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time to Go Solar!

in #ecotrain7 years ago

yes! i love the empowerment that this post brings forth!! we live in a pretty "backwards" state in the US that doesn't offer any incentives, but we were gung ho about doing solar instead of getting hooked up to the grid.

as you say, soon it will become easier and easier for people to get it as the prices go down and gov't incentives go up!

it feels so so so good to be charging my computer now and running my freezer off solar! incomparable benefits...

<3 <3 <3

Sort:  

Thank you! I so agree! I really was surprised by how much the cost has come down. As soon as we get a piece of land, we will be paying basically the same price for a monthly solar payment as we are for our electric utility, and I'm so excited to be off the grid. Honestly, I don't think that federal tax break will be around for much longer. It's 38% though. If you pay taxes, definitely take advantage of that.

The monthly payment option seems very viable for getting the mainstream solarized. Really excited for you to get land and your own solar setup.

Me too!!!! And I agree. Mainstream just needs things to basically continue the same in their personal life, and then it's easy for them to jump on board.

such a good point. i often ask myself, how can things really change and it is this: to integrate these eco friendly models into people's existing lives. most people wont step out of the box too much...

Exactly. It's taken me a really, really long time to figure out that I'm way, way, way far out and probably always will be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67