You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it better to have loved and lost than ever to have loved at all? Ecotrain's QOTW

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

i love you so much. this really struck a chord with me... maybe it's just sunday vibes, but really i feel you tapped into something...
it's uncanny how some of your experiences mirror mine... we'll have to go down the rabbit hole in a chat sometime ;)

If I think of this in terms of lovers, how blessed I am to have loved and lost. They come to me in dreams, sometimes, like far off echoes of beautiful sunsets or thunderstorms.

yess..... i have these, too.... are we richer, even for the midnight longing?

I have heard so many people say that they will never love again, or never leave themselves open to a relationship or to love, because it hurts too much. It's better to not go there, they say. To not love. I want to cry at them that it's what makes them human - without love, we lose our entire humanity. Of course we risk pain, but it is the cost, the contract we make with life.

-- how i want to tell the world this....

but the rain
Is full of ghosts tonight, that tap and sigh
the glass and listen for reply,
And in my heart there stirs a quiet pain

and how did you know that i read this over and over in high school as i was going through my first loves... getting my heart broken and coming back to the table for more......?

i love your take on this. i cried a few times <3 thanks. resteemed.

Sort:  

Oh bless!! You cried!! Love you. I love that poem and am amazed you read that over and over - that's so cool!!!! It's a beautifully poignant poem.

and yes, we are infinitely richer for the midnight longings...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67982.33
ETH 2624.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68