The Practice of Play: Living A Balanced Life | Ecotrain QOTW

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)


This week’s @EcoTrain Question of the Week (QOTW) asks Why is play time important and what are your favorite ways to play?

8FB3C195-E30F-445E-8290-E8167AB0CF5F.jpeg

Play is one of those things we're told that we grow out of...

I fully believe in the importance of maintaining a play practice as it can help support physical, emotional and spiritual balance. Play is not the opposite of work, but is a just as important factor of life.

E0DFBA0E-E640-4548-B9D9-7D43A53CDB43.jpeg

Play is a fantastic way to embody and support the inner child.

I always am reminded of the many ways I can engage with the world when I play. With so much of my life and passion wrapped up in work, I find much satisfaction and enjoyment in playing.

To do things just for fun, to cultivate a sense of awe and see the world through fresh eyes. This is what it means to me to play.

FCFC7046-1886-4F5A-A578-9040B1FB85DC.jpeg

Flow toys are one of my favorite ways to play

Toys that engage the body and relax the mind are a great way that I get out of my driven mind and focus on something less goal oriented.

I like to play with the bo staff and flower sticks, 2 toys that hone my hand eye coordination and are a sort of meditation.

I think it's the challenge of playing with such movement oriented toys that keeps me in the moment and out of my head. The constant sense of balance required is a great way to stay focused.

0B0BBD08-DC5E-439B-88BD-E5651126F74E.jpeg

I welcome any ways that I can enter the present moment and let go of all the stresses, burdens and thoughts that fill my head.


Playtime is something that we do instinctively as children, so why is it that we forsake this important act as grown ups?

I've often wondered this and cannot understand why we stop playing. It's a healthy and rewarding way to relieve stress, connect and build skills.


8E7B3BFA-2A86-4B04-AA54-18607473C185.jpeg

Playing is a very effective way to build overall health, balance and vitality.

As adults we are told that we socialize, not play.

Most often this is tied to some manner of consumption, which doesn’t require one's full attention or necessitate connection. Play on the other hand is usually focused on creativity and movement, things that can shake things up and open new pathways of thought, feeling and understanding. It is also a great way to relieve stress and

We can never forget to play and it's vitality important to ALWAYS keep playing.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I agree with you we sould all play. I some times feel my life goal is to play have fun and enjoy play time.

Love

This is pretty cool and this kind of play takes a lot of practice and it looks like so much fun.
I have never tried it, but I totally can see how relaxing but needing concentration and fun it is.

H-m-m-m! Never heard of flow sticks - they do look like fun. I agree with you that things that keep you in the present moment seem to do a lot more good for relieving stress and all the worrisome thoughts that float around in our minds, take us out of ourselves for a time.

Cool post. I always learn something here - bo staff and flower sticks. :)

Maybe I am too harsh on myself with my idea of play, love the concept of play and creativity flow. I think, for example, when I write poems it tends to be a way of getting things out of my head, but when I enjoy writing most is when I get a happy spark and I write about that moment.

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.698 which ranks you at #1491 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 1504).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91