You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homestead Design: What To Do When You're First On The Land, Observation, Patterns & "Getting the Feel"

in #ecotrain7 years ago

I LOVE this @mountainjewel. And so true, you need to get a 'feel' of a place first. What wants to go where...We just moved to this house a few months ago and it has quite a bit of land, and I'm only just getting the feel of the place now and not completely. So what you write makes so much sense. Thank you for sharing this. Oh, and the puppy in the first photo, is that a great pyrenese?

Sort:  

Yes you're spot on! and that's exciting you have some land where you just moved! I'm guessing Nevada (from your name?!). What a cool journey...

And yes that's our pup, Chivo, who is much bigger now! A pyrenese / anatolian shepherd mix. They're everywhere where we live in the country. It's a fantastic breed.

Haha, Nevada, I wish. I used to live in Las Vegas, hence the name. I'm actually Dutch living in Ireland. But when I lived in Vegas (I was lucky to live close enough to the city, but still a little in the country) I grew everything, my citrus plants and aloe vera were my biggest pride!
Yes, it is pretty exciting to get started here. There is a polytunnel (needed here in Ireland), I just need the cover for it. My problem in the past was always that I never knew if I wanted to stay in one place or even could since I'm renting. As a result, I never really wanted to start something permanent. I am still renting, but the people who own the house live abroad and even if they do come back and want to move back here, I wouldn't mind leaving them everything as they have the same kind of ideas as I do. It's different than leaving it to a landlord who is going to take it all down again. I am still not 100% sure if we'll stay, because we really want to travel, but at the same time, sitting around and waiting till we leave is such a waste, we might as well make the best of it while we can. Ah, I did think your dog might have something other than the pyr, but the anatolian is very closely related so it makes sense. I have two great pyr/newfie/st. Bernard cross dogs. I had both their parents and two grandparents, so I've had similar breed dogs for more than 12 years now and even though there are other interesting breeds, I would always come back to these guys. Here in Ireland they are a bit scared of them, especially the farmers for their sheep. Trying to explain that mine would actually protect his sheep (and they do) from predators (foxes and other dogs here) makes no difference.

I hear you on not being set in staying in one place. such was my earlier life before i chose this homestead in the middle of nowhere middle america :) for me, i was getting tired of the travel (though i do miss it now and feel the urge growing again after just 2 years on the land)... personally, i needed a home base. I think that's awesome you're making the best of where you are and investing your time and care and perhaps even passing on the high tunnel to the next person.

someone gave me asparagus crowns this year because they were a traveler and didn't have a place to plant them. that meant a lot to me-- though it made me wonder too why i hadn't planted asparagus along my years as a traveler, enriching places i had been with perennial agriculture that would continue to feed the people on the ground there!

yes, you know how awesome this breed is then! you've had them for quite a while! that's awesome... i feel i'll always want a pyr breed on the land now that i know how great they are. their spirits are so gentle and strong... fierce protectors!

have a great day!

Oh, they're the best protectors! I saw this video once where a great pyr went after a moose to scare him away! There were people who were saying that the dog wasn't trained right because he could be in danger and he didn't listen when called (Newsflash: Great Pyrenese are known for that. Mine only listened when they wanted, annoying sometimes, but their independence is what I love about them). And to people who are used to labradors or german shepherds it might seem like they don't obey but this dog did exactly what he was supposed to do: protect his herd (in this case the couple who owned him) and while doing that, they will give their lives for that herd if they need to. When my kids are playing outside and the dogs are out, I never have to be afraid that anything would happen to them, the dogs will take care of them. One of my dogs has adopted my youngest son and is truly his dog, although she accepts me as a good second because I feed her. But no stranger can get close to him and she gets in between the kids when they play a bit too rough. What I also find with these dogs is that some (I was lucky to have two like that) have a great judge of character. They just know when someone means no harm or if they do. When Dakota (my son's dog) doesn't like someone, they are usually not very nice people. Oh and I wouldn't mind to have a home base somewhere, here or elsewhere. Somewhere to come back to. But I've always been a traveler at heart and staying put in one place for 10 years (Holland) was pure hell for me. Also my least favourite country to live in to be honest...so that was extra bad. But as long as I can't buy anything, I don't mind moving around. I would love to show my kids the places I have been to and so much more! The only regret I have is that I couldn't start sooner, because now my eldest (16) doesn't want to go....But hey, maybe she'll change her mind (and bring the boyfriend lol)

yesss so true what you said, " Mine only listened when they wanted, annoying sometimes, but their independence is what I love about them"... haha the most annoying aspect and most remarkable... they're truly bred for it... taking care of sheep in the fields alone. definitely independent spirits... love the story about your son...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67