You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ecotrain QOTW: How do you know when it is time to give up on something?

in #ecotrain5 years ago

So if working remotely I wouldn't need a work visa? Your internet is many times faster than mine. If Mexico is the way we go, then I think I'd prefer not to be rural. At least for some time. I realized that I need more people around me. I don't mind the more quiet areas in a city either, and don't need to be in the middle of a city (that's too extreme too) but I've had my fill of isolation for now. Also for the kids, I think it would be better if there are other kids to play with.

Sort:  

No, I believe that if you are filing/paying taxes in the country you are collecting your pay through, it's no issue. (Nothing was said to me about it not being OK, and I mean they saw the paystubs and knew about it, so I am assuming it is fine, the only thing they told me is that if I started working through Mexico--with a Mexican company, then I would need to switch my visa over, get a tax number and all that jazz) Of course, I recommend you ask for yourself, as things are changing all the time, and I am no expert. There are a lot of expats in Puerto Vallarta. It's a nice area. No, I do not recommend downtown. The rents there are way too high(unreasonable) and it there is a lot of traffic/noise. The outskirts are less expensive, and much quieter. Plus, they are much more family friendly. There are English schools here too. I like it here, it's a good place to start. I bought some land on the coast north in Nayarit. It's outside a small town. It will be the best of both worlds for me. I love to be outside in nature and the climate here is perfect for me. You should know it is very very humid here. Usually over 80% all the time. I like the weather, but I know many expats struggle with the high humidity and heat in the summer. I think a good test, is to come on a tourist visa for 6 months and check it out. That's what I did at first. I am not sure though which countries/passports qualify for that. I am not traveling on a German/European passport.

Humidity doesn't bother me. I lived in South East Asia and I didn't have any issues with the humidity and heat there, while the locals were complaining. I also lived in the desert (Las Vegas) and the dry heat is something else. I'd choose humidity over dry heat any day.

I totally agree with you there. The dry heat in Las Vegas was not for me, I had a constant migraine when I was there.
That's too funny. The locals here complain too while I am still out there doing my daily 10k. Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65