You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eco-Village Dreaming

in #ecotrain5 years ago

I love that you used a Rudolf Steiner quote! A nice little reminder of my school years.

The story of the axe wielder was actually a good example of dealing with things the anarchy way. Eviction was pretty much how things were done way back when. It's never nice to have to deal with these sorts of things, but with the community support it can be done.

Interesting to discover you were a new age traveller over in the UK. They were often given as bad a reputation as possible. I guess it helps garner support for the regular eviction orders.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I love that Steiner quote and it seemed apt!! Oh yes the ax wielding friend was the first time I had a panic attack. I ended up in hospital. I was fine and knew that he wouldn't hurt me but boy my body told me otherwise!!!!!!

Yes, they were given a bad rep that's for sure. Ironic considering the rise of the tiny house movement now!!! There was definitely a big push to get rid of anyone anti-establishment. When I met Jamie, he lived in a truck, so he'd been part of that movement and lived on a few sites. I used to go visit him when he was parked up on site in Brighton, so that was my first taste of that world, which really took my fancy to be honest!! When I moved over we lived in a house for a few years so that we could give our relationship a head start without all the stress and complications of site life. Then we moved back onto one for about a year whilst we saved to come back to Australia.

There's quite a big history and quite a lot of stories that come out of the new traveller movement, that's for sure. Still miss it. It's not as common now - its harder to do I think. And people get sick of being evicted. It's hard. Yet there's that hankering back to the days of old where you could live on the land without being forced into homes and walls you don't acdtually want to be in.

The Battle of the Bean Field was one of the first victories for the establishment against the news age travellers movement. Do you know it? Since then it has gotten harder for them. The Irish travellers seem to be a bit more established and I think have a bit more knowledge of the law. They still get labelled with the reputation, but my experience with them was nothing like their reputation. I don't know if there are any Romanies in the UK any more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Know it?? I have the book!!! Yes, there ARE still Romany in UK. Did you know Australia has Romany??

FASCINATING podcast on ABC conversations... will find and DM it to you later.

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't know Australia has them! There is still hope!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63476.24
ETH 2487.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68