You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling 101 Part 1: How kids learn

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Nice! The current educational system is absolutely screwing kids up...

But I also think parents do. What's your take on early specialization of kids? In Slovakia where I live, it's common you put a kid to do some hobby at the age of 8 and they usually continue doing it for 10 years till the usually just stop. While being semi-pro in the particular thing....I just think it's a stupid attitude since after several years, brain doesn't really get any new inputs and that hobby training/practice becomes just a drill....both physical and mental....

That's why I'd like to create kind of free-time afternoon center for kids where we'd do programming, martial arts and languages. Weird combination, I know...but I believe kids would get many more inputs which makes their brain much more variable and ready for more situations in life....I don't want my kids to be ice-hockey champions so why should they play ice-hockey 6 times a week? When they can do it just 2 times and choose other 2 activiities....Hope you get my point..I think being a blue belt in several areas is better than black belt in one area...at least if you're a kid, of course we need to specialize once we're adults..

Pls lemme know what u think of my plan to build such project :) thx!

Sort:  

OH I agree. Parents are definitely playing a huge part in this. In fact it's often pressure from parents that is shaping the school system. My opinion is always that children should be doing what they enjoy. If they like doing the same thing six days a week, more power to them, but I would think that most kids would definitely prefer variety. I would imagine that if you can get parents on board, kids will definitely be interested in your center. My kids always loved trying new things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51