You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To: Starting Fruit & Nut Trees from Seed in a Temperate Climate

in #ecotrain6 years ago

@sagescrub great post and very well explained. Raising trees from seed was a hobby of mine in my early 20's. I used clean sand, no peat moss, sterilized in my mothers oven. It worked very well. The moist un-sterilized sand will grow fungus on the seeds, destroying them. Good luck it is a very rewarding hobby. I now have 50 foot trees producing their own seeds.

Sort:  

Thanks for the warning about the fungus. Was the fungus visible where you can see it growing before it is too late? So nice to hear that you are harvesting the fruits of your labors many years later :)

No you can't see it. Sterilizing is a basic step.

Oh I see! It sounds much more serious than I realized. I hope I didn't shoot myself in the foot this time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51