What is matriarchy? What do you think a matriarchal society would look like? ecotrain question of the week

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Matriarchy, where women wear more pompous hats than men.



Matriarchy, for lack of a better word, is good. - Gordon Gekko

With this fake quote, film aficionados might know the real one, I like to start off my post, refering to one theory that the word matriarchy itself is the product of a translation mistake.

When Johann Jakob Bachofen wrote his seminal work “Das Mutterrecht“ the direct but clumsy translation Mother Right was soon replaced with the term matriarchy in English then retranslated as Matriarchat into German and voila!, a star was born.

Ethnologists usually prefer the term matrilinear, describing societies, where land and property is owned and passed on among the females of a family, from mother to daughter, and husbands sometimes are mere visitors into the household of their wife, their social obligations remaining more to their own mother´s family than to that of their wife and the most important male figure for a child being not the own biological father but the eldest brother of its mother, the maternal uncle, since he is the one man permanently present in the child´s family.

I think this arrangement has a certain natural logic and charm to it.
Like the bee, which is needed to pollinate the apple blossom, but the apple stays with the apple tree, the male is only needed to impregnate the female and for genetic reasons this must be a man from another family, but the child stays in the mother´s family, like the apple stays with the apple tree.

One matrilinear society I visited during my travels was the Minangkabau in Sumatra, Indonesia, where traditions are now slowly being eroded by global influences, with many Minangkabau men heading off now to other parts of Indonesia, in search of a more dominant role than the one reserved for them in a society where women hold the key to the treasure chest.

Sometimes I also think that the Western mind, usually only capable of exclusive black and white thinking, coined the term matriarchy as a counter concept to patriarchy, probably with a heavy dose of counterinsurgency in mind, to strike fear into the hearts of men, about that terrible fate which would befall them should women ever rule.


It´s not that women are better human beings per se, they just have not got so much opportunity yet to dirty their hands. - Alice Schwarzer

I quite like this quote by Germany´s leading feminist thinkeress, since whenever women got the opportunity, like Bloody Brigitte in Auschwitz, they proofed quite capable of getting their hands dirty.
Or “the only man in the cabinet“ Margaret Thatcher, or Indira Ghandi as examples for women becoming head of state with all the power and abuse which comes with it.

Feminists might argue now that this were women coming into a position of power in a patriarchy and that in a matriarchy all would be rainbows and unicorns, quod erat demonstrandum!
Among some esoteric or leftist-feminist circles, there is a certain infatuation with the feminine, maintaining or hoping for, that the femine, being the “good“ force will save us from the “evil“ masculine force, the light side will save us from the dark side, some kind of positive sexism, but in the end it all comes down to power. Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolute, does not matter if the one holding the power is male or female.


Men and women are the same. In old age men get breasts and women moustaches.
Swami Yogaswarupananda of Rishikesh

So while His Hilariousness was referring to our genetic and hormonal makeup and the everchanging levels of estrogen and testosterone, every human being contains both feminine and masculine parts and traits and only the acceptance and the realisation of both parts and traits makes for a fully grown, mature and healthy individuum.




As a child I fell victim to my father´s divisive patriarchal primitive thinking which deprived me of the possibility of living my full potential.

In summer holidays I always stayed with my maternal grandparents for some time, which, me being the only grandchild, was paradise.
My grandmother was very accomplished at crochet, making elaborate, refined shawls and selling them. So naturally, being in the presence of a master, I wanted to learn that too, so she taught me some basic stuff and I was happy with my work.
When my father came after a few days to pick me up he saw me at my crochet work and yelled:

“What are you doing there?“

I looked at him as if he was stupid, and only later I could understand the full dimension of his stupidity and said:

“I´m doing crochet.“
“A boy doesn´t do crochet!“

And that was the end of my career in needle work, luckily he intervened,
I might have become gay after all! 😉




Somewhere I read that apparently men living in matriarchal or matrilinear societies, those societies being tribal, are quite happy with that arrangement and will fiercely defend this blueprint of life against all encroachments by other patriarchal men.
I can see why. I like to imagine that in those societies there is less of a rat race than in patriarchal societies, less competition among men, since there is not much status to gain anyway when women “own“ the really important stuff like land and children, so men can also indulge in cultural stuff, like making music, singing, dancing, story telling, enhancing their feminine qualities and it are those things which, after the basic needs are met, give meaning to the human existence.

When I went to the Philippines for the first time in 1983, I also visited Mountain Province with its tribes and there I could see men carrying and attending to babies and small children while the women where working in the fields.
So my Filippino relatives joked:
“You marry an Ifugao woman, you can stay at home and play with the kids while she will do all the work.“
There we have it again, the common misconception that housework and taking care of the kids is not work, even if men do it.
But I have to admit, the idea was quite tempting, since those men all looked quite contend, maybe only missing the good old days of headhunting.


I don´t really have any idea what a matriarchal society would look like, but since the term matriarchy seems to be already the result of a wrong translation, a misconception, I like to believe that a matriarchal society would be a society where both men and women could develop both of their masculine and feminine parts to their own liking, without oppressing each other while having fun together in the process. Sounds a bit like a fairy tale.

But now, with our rapidly changing work environment, the male hero not any longer being required to hunt (go to his 9 to 5 cubicle or conveyor belt to bring home the cash to faithful wifey in da cave) and the dragons are all being slayed by computers and robots now, both, men and women can stay at home now, make some money on da blockchain and live happily ever after.


Probably life in a matriarchal society would look a bit like in this video.
Not too shabby!



@ecoTrain


Supporting People Who Help

Make The World A Better Place


Sort:  

This is brilliant, and I, too, am so delighted to have you back amongst us! Your openness, humor, and honesty are so incredibly refreshing. First, I think it takes enormous guts to even answer this question as a man, particularly in a group of really powerful, and perhaps somewhat opinionated, women. And yet you came to the same conclusion that all the women came to - that matriarchy is not the opposite of patriarchy. Women in a position of domination, power and control would behave no differently than men - her royal highness Madame Clinton being my personal favorite example. Even matrilineal and matrilocal are not quite matriarchy. Matriarchy is a paradigm shift we have yet to see, and I think it is the start of creating something beautiful. You really hit so many nails directly on the proverbial head in here that I shan't point them all out, but I tearfully express gratitude, as a mama, for the recognition that raising children and keeping a home is, indeed, work, regardless of who does it. Hopefully you are right that we can all find our balance and grow together joyfully. And we will know who to look to should dragons ever reappear. After all we do need that masculine energy.
My last point is a story. I'll be brief as this is already ridiculously long for a comment. My mother and step-father married when I was 6, so he was an important part of raising me, and I refer to both him and my biological father as dad. Just a couple years ago - I must have been at least in my late 30's, maybe already 40 - I was sitting on the couch in their living room watching tv with them and knitting. He looked at me and said, "I know how to knit." I stopped, jaw dropped. "I'm sorry. What? Really?" He explained that his second wife (the one right before my mom) had been a knitter and, in an effort to connect with her, he also learned how to knit. I turned around to my mother washing the dishes and asked her if she had known that dad knew how to knit. She was also stunned. He's a pretty masculine guy. Sweet and sensitive, but pretty masculine. And I realized, again, how sad it is for our boys that they are blocked from so many wonderful things. If only the men's rights' activists understood that us crazy feminists are actually trying to make things better for all of us. When I had my first child, a boy, at 23 I realized that his path was also stunted by patriarchy. All this to say that maybe now is a good time to pick back up the crochet hook. So much love and gratitude for such a wonderful piece of writing. So much for brevity. Ah well, not my strong suit. My kids always say, "mom, just tell me the time. I don't need to know the history of the clock and how it works."

Epic answer, thank you!
My crochet hook is now writing on steemit, finding my own style and voice, beyond all ideas of right and wrong. And right now I am more in the mood to pick up a gun than a crochet hook and join "our Spain" in Rojava, but since I never fired a gun in my life, I would be totally useless there anyway and my martyrdom pretty meaningless, and since I´m a bit older now anyway, I constrain myself to armchair anarchy and radicalism.
But in order to change my gloomy mood a bit and since you mentioned Hillary, I´d like to share a joke, so cruel, one can hardly call it one, by the one I deem fit to be called the rightful successor to the throne of George Carlin, the one and only Frankie Boyle:
"Hillary Clinton was a very particular kind of feminist.
She did not believe in female genital mutilation, unless it was performed by an American drone."

Writing is absolutely my creative outlet too.

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing
and rightdoing there is a field.
I’ll meet you there.
When the soul lies down in that grass
the world is too full to talk about.

~Rumi
I really like the phrase armchair anarchy. I feel like there's a poem in there somewhere.
It's still a joke, just a really gross one. Then again, she is really, really gross, so it fits. That whole election cycle was such a shit show, like something out of Idiocracy. I felt like I was taking crazy pills. I'll have to check out Frankie Boyle. Sounds like my kind of humor.
Just read the Rojava article. For fucks sake. Absolutely infuriating. The west just disgusts me.

Hey @likedeeler, this is great. I love all the quotes you used. You never fail to make me LOL, even in an important discussion :) You are great at dancing between idealism and reality, sharing more than one perspective. Very insightful.

oooh, Nicely done! you made some spot on points, and then some! as always.. i knew this wold be a goodun!

Sometimes I also think that the Western mind, usually only capable of exclusive black and white thinking, coined the term matriarchy as a counter concept to patriarchy, probably with a heavy dose of counterinsurgency in mind, to strike fear into the hearts of men, about that terrible fate which would befall them should women ever rule.

i really like this point! No one even understands what matriarchy is because of the imposing and corrupt views of those in power.. We can rule with compassion and nurturing, or we can rule by domination and control.

A great example i want to share could be

In a matriarchal society, if someone is too poor to feed their children properly, rather than social services take the kids away to a foster home and devastate the whole family, they would instead bring food! What a difference!!

glad you posted on this one ld

Okay so now you have written my comment. This is all I wanted to say and one thing I'd add to it is:

There we have it again, the common misconception that housework and taking care of the kids is not work, even if men do it.

I think it is these stereotypes that make it harder for us to identify and understand truly what a certain society is.

Great example, but I also like to think that in a matriarchal society nobody would be too poor to feed their children, because we would shift from a scarcity paradigm based on competition to an abundance paradigm based on mutualism. All the stuff we need is already there, it is just distributed unevenly and unfairly because of those toxic masculine power structures.

that is true! indeeed!

haha thanks for the chuckles. this one especially,

Men and women are the same. In old age men get breasts and women moustaches.

I like to believe this too,

I like to believe that a matriarchal society would be a society where both men and women could develop both of their masculine and feminine parts to their own liking, without oppressing each other while having fun together in the process.

To me, this is the ideal version of it all! lol! glad to hear some interesting stories from your travels, too @likedeeler :) thanks, it's good to see you again <3!

so glad you are back to us! I can't stop smiling when I read your articles - you have an absolutely stunning way of making your point and I absolutely love it! And what I also like that you put so many perspectives on the topic! I do believe that no patriarchy nor matriarchy can be considered as a supreme or better. They all have pros and cons. And hope this prediction from you would be true!

I like to believe that a matriarchal society would be a society where both men and women could develop both of their masculine and feminine parts to their own liking

Much love as always!

Image Source

Hahaha The one in a Minion tag is awesome and suits @likedeeler perfectly!

Yes, I thought you would like it too, my love<3

I love this

Sometimes I also think that the Western mind, usually only capable of exclusive black and white thinking, coined the term matriarchy as a counter concept to patriarchy, probably with a heavy dose of counterinsurgency in mind, to strike fear into the hearts of men, about that terrible fate which would befall them should women ever rule."

it sums up perfectly the whole topic really because we are living in a culture build on fear and dominance and we are not meant to believe anything could change or be better. Thank you @likedeeler really love what you have brought to this discussion, a real big slice of how the feck it really is.

I think you will find that imperfection, conflict etc. are part of the human condition in general. Having a 'matriarchy' over a 'patriarchy' solves nothing.
I don't think that the patriarchy exists in the sense of a deliberately planned out system of oppression against women etc. It is just a natural outcome of the strengths and weaknesses of the male and female sex.
I really think all this talk of 'matriarchy' and 'patriarchy' is just another wedge used to divide people.

*** hai friends, I just joined, I dare say I need you, and I really hope to excel, just like you, thank you ***

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01