The Three Kings Are Generous Today

in #ecotrain7 years ago (edited)

Next year, he will bring Steem!



Thank God, it´s Three Kings today, the end of Christmas terror is near.
While traditionally challenged Germans have been throwing out their dying trees since a few days now, in hardcore traditional families the tree will be held hostage until Three Kings, wether the tree likes it or not.
So from tomorrow on, even the most die-hard Christmas fanatics will stop singing those dreadful songs, provided they are not members of the calendarly challenged Russian-Orthodox Church, celebrating Christmas tomorrow.

But alas, the next challenge for opponents of calendarly organized mass hysteria is just around the corner, Carnival. People who go to the basement to laugh during the rest of the year (that´s a typical example of German humor, one of my favorite oxymorons, don´t know if you get it), suddenly will be extremely funny on command.

Luckily I live in the very North of Germany where those barbaric rituals of drunken, costumed mass hysteria are not popular. In fact, the North has a long history of providing asylum seekers from the South with a safe heaven, free from brass music and vomit, during those crazy days.

But since it´s Three Kings today, it´s time for an epiphany.
With the recent Steem ascent I am sure many of you feel like kings now themselves.
And like the Three Kings, bringing presents and for sure feeling good about themselves because they have seen the light, we also keep giving gifts to each other in this wonderful gift economy called Steemit, seeing the light of limitless opportunites shining from the blockchain. But, unlike the Three Kings, we don´t have to walk for days to deliver our presents, we have the whole world at our fingertips now and can give freely to whomever we deem worthy.

What makes me especially happy is that my 100% upvote climbed from being worth about 17 cent to over a dollar now.
So whenever I click upvote nowadays I have this tingling feelgood sensation of changing people´s lives.
Voting prudently, with the help of steemworld.org, I can give out about 10 $ a day, 3650 $ a year which in some areas of the world is already enough for a family to live on for a whole year.
Just thinking about it and all those implications makes me really happy.

Now, truth be told, I don´t really vote for “poor people“ from developing countries because I have my own circle of @ecotrain authors I follow and they are mostly from “rich“ countries, but they all contribute to making the world a better place.

I have to admit, there were days when I thought, if I had just kept that one Bitcoin I bought in July last year instead of exchanging it for Steem. I had bought it for 2200 € and we all know what happened to Bitcoin while Steem was slowly grinding downward.
But all is forgiven now! :-)


What actually really happened that joyous day.




The sources of joy







For more inspiring stories and a group of inspiring and supportive people check out @ecotrain.

Sort:  

hey dont worry, im skint,, as are half the ecoTrain

#funny
we may not be aware if we make funny things and people laugh at us

Haha all is forgiven now that steem is on the rise. Sounds about right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61236.82
ETH 2672.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61