You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kashata Vegan Coconut Treat

in #ecotrain6 years ago

So when you say you were vegetarian for 14 years, are you then eating meat again now?
I am now also in my 14th year of being vegetarian and only this year I "sinned" a bit, eating one piece of sushi with some salmon in it while visiting a friend, but I have no real cravings for meat and fish, so at home I never cook with meat.

Sort:  

Yes. I switched back to omnivore some 9ish years ago. Every once in a while I would steal a piece of ham at Christmas or thanksgiving, but usually not because it would make me sick. The only other time was when I did sweat lodge. I would always have buffalo stew afterward because it was so grounding. I started eating meat again at a camp out. I had been thinking a lot about bio regionalism, but honestly it was a really spontaneous decision. Someone was making brats over the fire and offered me one because he didn't know I was vegetarian. I said yes, and I just never looked back. I liked being vegetarian, but I don't miss it. I do love how 14 years as a vegetarian gave me a much wider variety of meals to choose from. We certainly don't eat meat every day.

What was the exact reason of switching back to omnivore? Cuz Im having the inner fight of going vegetarian because of the ethical reasons but at the same time, I believe people are natural meat eaters as well....went vegetarian for 2 months already, then went back home for a weekend - and now Im back on omnivore diet again :/

Well, it was a combination of things. Part of it was thinking about the logistics of transporting the foods I needed to stay healthy all around the planet (especially in the winter) when I could get local, free range meat. I also was eating a lot of soy products and also feeding them to my kids, and I started to learn how bad excessive soy is. I also believe that plants are a lot more intelligent than people realize, and spiritually, I think it's fine to eat whatever and that it's important to be grateful to/for all of it at least in part because it sacrificed its life. Lastly, I just really loved it. I took that bite of bratwurst, and it was basically the tastiest thing I had ever eaten in my entire life. I ate bacon every morning for the next year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49