If we were all telepathic, how would the world be different? The Ecotrain question of the week!

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Through observation the observer changes the observed



In a nutshell, that would be a total nightmare!



I am very much tempted to rest my case here and thereby create the shortest ecotrain post ever.
Then I would like to unleash a lot of bots on it, to get shitloads in damages paid to me, for even having such a question put in front of me. Since you guys are not telepathic I have to tell you all those things and I am very happy that this procedure is still in place.
If you want somebody to know something about you, you tell them, if you don´t, you don´t, that´s called freedom!

Of course we would first need to define telepathy. What do we mean by that, how would that work?
Would we be like 24/7 radio stations, constantly transmitting our thoughts? To whom? To everybody, or could we choose when and whom we would address with our mental mobil phones? Is it a voluntary communication with a chosen partner, or is everybody an open book for everybody? Are you sending consciously or unconsciously? Or are you not sending at all but the others can hack into your thoughts at will?


Imagine you would not need to answer that most dreaded of all questions anymore:

“Do you love me?“



The other party would know already that you are just in it for the carnal fun, where would be the adventure in all of that? The games, the empty promises, the deceit, the aberrations and confusions, the trials and tribulations, the sudden shock when you realize, you have been taken for a ride.
If we were all telepathic, what would happen to the sweetest of all illusions, love?


Love, love, love




If we were all telepathic, my first question would be
“Where´s the fucking switch? I want to put an end to all this noise!“

Frankly, I don´t even want to know what most people are thinking.
Can´t be much good anyway, or the world would be a better place.




With the current power structure in the world, all kinds of tyrants would have a field day.
Just ask those people in Bahrain where the government used social media to crack down on dissidents. What if the secret police wouldn´t even need to go to Facebook anymore to know whom to arrest?
Mind control has always been some psychopaths´ wet dream, getting behind the last barriers of freedom, an individual´s thoughts.


A few years ago I read about how Victor Frankl survived the German concentration camps by envisioning himself being at university again giving lectures, how he was able to use this vision to overcome all obstacles and horrors, how this vision made him a survivor, how he became even an inspiration to some of his guards.
Don´t you think that telepathic Nazis would have tried to interfere with his visions? They knew already that they could do whatever they wanted to his body, and he had accepted that fact also, but retreated into his mind, so imagine the power they would have had, if they could have read his thoughts.

Maybe some people think that if everybody would be telepathic it would level the playing field, but I think bad people would still hurt good people, because that´s their nature.


Radiant Atman, fellow seeker of the Divine!



One of my memorable moments in India was when one member of our Yoga Vidya group asked Sri Karthikeyan, one of the wise old men of Sivananda ashram, Rishikesh, about past lives. She told him that she would be interested to know about her past lives.
He just smiled and said: “Yes, yes, you would like to have been a princess in one of your past lives, right? We can´t even handle this life of ours, this life is already too much sometimes. What´s the use of knowing something about some past life?“
I think the same about other people´s thoughts. We can´t even handle our own thoughts, our monkey mind, and yet we would love to know other people´s thoughts?
Come on, get a life!
Spiritual traditions have always preached about the value of non-thinking, of no-mind, to get some peace of mind through meditation and then it would be good if everybody was telepathic?

Now I can tell you that I have certain, let´s call them clairvoyant, abilities, or less dramatic, hunches, where I sometimes know what will happen in the future. But I never tell anybody about those things, because I think that by telling other people I might change the outcome of my visions, and since I am not a happy-go-lucky kid, my visions are usually more on the dark side and more of an unpleasant nature, more pessimistic than optimistic, so people would probably become upset if I told them some stuff, like that I see them failing before they even started. Also if I told them, they might blame me for their failure after it happened, claiming that I did some voodoo, spread some negative energy, you know, all this New Age BS.
Sometimes I think I should store my prophecies somewhere with a time stamp and then I could dig it up after some event and rub it in, but this would then just serve my ego, and people would also hate me for it and it would cause them even more suffering.

What about all those social media snowflakes constantly whining about getting their feelings hurt by “hate speech“, all those SJWs constantly trying to control what people are allowed to write and say, wouldn´t they then not also want to control what people are allowed to think?

The horror and the beauty of the human existence is having to deal with uncertainty, never knowing which sabertooth is around the next corner. To be ok with, to embrace this uncertainty is greatness, to fight against uncertainty with stuff like wishing we were telepathic is the sign of a small mind.
If you understand that this uncertainty is the price of freedom, who in his right mind would then wish for being able to know the thoughts of others?
The possibility of secrecy is the prerequisite for transparency, if you cannot have secrets you then can also not choose to become transparent, if you cannot lie, you cannot choose truth.

Hari Om Tat Sat




@ecotrain


Supporting People Who Help

Make The World A Better Place



Sort:  

Beautiful, really interesting words .. Be a good Be yourself
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing this with us

I read a book called "I visited Ganymede", which states that in another galaxy, telepathy is part of their lives and society is perfect. I think that would be true, because nobody could plot damage against anyone because it would be detected in advance. It is a very interesting topic. Thanks for sharing.

ah i love this line!

The horror and the beauty of the human existence is having to deal with uncertainty, never knowing which sabertooth is around the next corner. To be ok with, to embrace this uncertainty is greatness, to fight against uncertainty with stuff like wishing we were telepathic is the sign of a small mind.

that's a very awesome element of your argument. this embracing not-knowing... also appreciate you brought an old sage in there.. very good point he made, too. humorous as always likedeeler.. did not know that thing about victor frankl!

Thanks mate.
Yes, I´m also pleased as Punch to have come up with this stuff. 😊
First I didn´t even want to write about this QotW, there was some resistance, but then I just saw it as a challenge.
That´s about the only thing I know about Victor Frankl, that and his epic sutra
"Between stimulus and reaction man has the freedom of choice."

Just a thought about this enigmatic, androgynous mountainjewel entity:
Sexist as I am, I´m always assuming I´m communicating with Ini.
But how can I be sure? This uncertainty is killing me! 🤣

hahaha!! ;) what a mysterious androgynous duo we are! hehe.. it's usually me, wren, making the comments ... i can leave a little w for you, maaaaybe in the future if it's me to clear all of this uncertainty!! w

I held out reading other posts before writing mine, this question of the week threw me really, I thought I knew straight away how I was going to answer it but after much thought, actually middle of the night thoughts I went in a similar direction to you, although not as fun to read as yours. Great read @likedeeler, always enjoy hearing what you have to say.

I can count on you for raw truth @likedeeler! I am glad you did not hold back on this one and remind us that there are evil doers out there that are ready to take advantage of the weaker folks with whatever tools they can get their hands on.

Frankly, I don´t even want to know what most people are thinking.
Can´t be much good anyway, or the world would be a better place.

So true! There would be a lot of nasty, mundane or boring stuff to filter through to get to the good stuff.

Well ideas, cultural norms, memes and the like would get spread around much faster if that were the ways things were, but as studies have shown people act differently and defensively when they know they're being watched the question of, "what all would (we) think of in the first place?" arises. Further that there couldn't be intellectual property/business secrets obviously. I mean fuck, that would apply to state secrets as well. In summary, it would be extremely chaotic

Loved this post! When I finished reading it, I saw the earnings of it and was blown away. Feels good to see how your great work is getting recognition. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48