You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eco Train Question Of The Week-To what extent is the negative media, media biases responsible for depression.

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Great post and very tough subject, since depression is rising and rising higher and higher and it is very sad and scary, since like you said we see more and more children and teenagers dealing with depression like never before and it is not getting any better but worse.
Most of the woman I know in my life including family, friends and co-workers that are over 30 years of age are on depression medicine.
It is very scary and I believe, (these are just my believes) it is all from stressing out, since all of these ladies in my life had really good life from their childhood and up.
The world is too fast right now, and people don't know how to slow down or enjoy their lives anymore, and we are all chasing that dollar.
What happened to spending time in nature, daily, what happened to walking and moving our bodies instead of driving everywhere and always in a hurry, what happened to having time to help someone or just to have time to talk with someone instead of texting etc.
We think of the things we don't have and want and don't appreciate what we have and then we start to hate our lives.

When I first went to visit El Salvador, I fell in love with the people and nature and just the relaxed life.
You barely see anyone stressed or in a hurry. People are happy, and they have time for each other and anyone who comes their way.
If they have lots or nothing, they are happy and healthy people and that is why I want to move there to live that happy life which we experienced while living there for 2 years and I can't wait to go back.
Sorry, I think I went way off, but this is just from my life experience and this subject is very touchy and sad subject, since my dad is dealing with depression for good 10 years now, and I know for a fact that it was all caused by stress and just the lifestyle after we moved to Canada, which was pretty hard for my dad.
And watching him go through this terrible time was very hard and it breaks my heart for anyone that is dealing with this mental health and their family member.

Sort:  

thank you @joalvarez you are so on point with what you have said, we really are too caught up in this fast pace that we do not have time for what really matters and we become so stressed.There are so many factors to consider indeed. I am sorry to hear that your father has had a long battle with depression, it can really take a hold of some people. We really do need to remember what is important in life, but time is something that a lot of people feel they no longer have and making time for themselves and their families is no longer a priority. some times in order to move forward we must look back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65765.48
ETH 2628.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66