You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ledger Nano S Review: Did I just waste $150!? Are There Better Options!?

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Hey eco, alex. Timely post, so thanks. I have recently received 2 Nano's procured the same way as yours complete with the price hike as I also live remotely (Tonga). The similarity does not end there. I am a bit longer in the tooth than you and as such my eyes have a few more miles on them .....and they are crap. I completely agree the size of the screen is a pain, I went one step further than the mag specs (as I already use specs) I went into my wife sewing room and got her magnifier light, which did the trick. I am also a mac user and I had the same problem as in that I could not get the computer to see the ledger. Eventually after a few hours of trying and trawling the internet and taking blood pressure meds to try and calm down, my wife came in and suggested that I try using her computer (a PC). Reluctantly I unplugged from my mac and plugged into her machine.....bloody thing worked straight away......resulting in me feeling much better until I saw the smug look on my wife face. Then out of curiosity I immediately tried it on my mac again and the bloody thing hooked straight up. So yes I can completely empathise with your frustration however, overall now that I am set up, I do feel much more at ease. I love the idea of the IR pen and light, I am off to Australia in a few weeks so I will be going shopping, so a big thanks for that gem. With regards to how many wallets you can get on the ledger, and obviously I don't know which coins you are into but if they are ERC 20 then you can use the MyEther wallet which can contain all your Ethereum based coins. Any way thanks again for the post. Cheers J

Sort:  

thanks for this comment Jeff! WOw.. we had the same experience in MAY ways huh! im surprised to hear that mac seems to be a problem for you too.. i guess they have a major issue.. and no support to handle it.. very strange!

Glad you like the UV pen idea.. that is priceless i think.. the page of the book its on becomes the PIN number ;-)

Hi eco-alex and jeff, For some reason busy wouldn't let me post my own comment so i had to post here? Seems odd but anyway!

I have a ledger and I actually thought it was pretty cool. I personally wouldn't want the screen to be any bigger then it is, simply because I want it to always be small. It shouldn't be something that can be easily found.

I agree on how it can only hold 4 apps is a bit crazy, Considering there are thousands of alts I would have expected that it would be able to hold a lot of different ones. So I think they could work on that, and I can't see any problems with them being able to do that.

You say that if your 24 words are compromised then that's it, you lose it all. However, you would have to have your ledger and your 24 words taken. As the ledger has to be physically plugged in for anyone to actually remove the coins.

If you're still looking for a hardware wallet, Maybe have a look at a Trezor as I believe they can hold more than 4 cryptos :P

Thanks for the read. It's always interesting to see other peoples points of views.

Hey dealsy, now that it is all sorted they seem to be working fine and I am happy with them, however, I was thinking that I might get a tremor and give it a try as I have heard good things about them. When I originally ordered the Ledgers I was looking at both options but every thing seemed to be sold out and supplies where as rare as hens teeth apart from on eBay, and I had heard so many dodgy stories from people who had bought their wallets via eBay that I was not interested in getting any through them. Cheers J

Yeah, I think it's worth a shot especially if you have a fair bit invested. For me, I only have a few coins, A fair amount in those ones, But because of that the ledger is perfect for me :D I think there comes a point where a hardware wallet is almost needed. I'm not sure you would want to store a lot of worth on a desktop or mobile wallet :P

YepI agree, as much as it was reasonably stressful getting the things sorted I am much happier now that my keys are locked away, even though I also do not have a portfolio anywhere near the size that I would like. Cheers J

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68545.57
ETH 3900.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71