You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gardens @mountainjewel | Permaculture Design Process

in #ecotrain6 years ago

This is a really well thought out post, not mention a wonderful garden! I found it easy to read and follow and the photos were a great asset.

I really liked seeing all the different things you 2 have added over the years.

I am curious how the alliums do with the other plants so close. Do the garlic get large bulbs? Do the leeks get nice thick stems?

I find your garden really fascinating, but it would be really overwhelming for me if it were mine! My Lyme brain does better with simple and straight, too much different input at once and it goes on strike! That's why your post was impressive, even I could follow it!

Sort:  

Great feedback. Wren is the photo wizard and she continues to amaze me with her skills.

The leeks in the high tunnel were plant last fall and most developed robust stalks. The garlic is planted at 4-6" and we found this to be a wee bit close at times, but still get decent head development. Our issue has been getting enough land into production to plant all the seed stock we had, so we opted for closer spacing. This is our first year planting out the pathways with spuds as the beds kept eroding into the path, so Wren suggested we plant them out. We'll let you know how this year's harvest goes.

Don't be fooled we get overwhelmed at times too! Our style is indeed more organic than linear, but there is a time and place for straight(ish) rows. Glad my meandering thoughts could be clear enough to be understood to you. Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41