You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing on the Death Penalty

in #ecotrain6 years ago (edited)

Just going to put out a couple of points.

  1. In Hebrew, it is "Thou shalt not murder," rather than "Thou shalt not kill."

  2. The Old Testament is filled with prohibitions punishable by death.

This has nothing to do with my stance on the issue, but these two things, if one is going to rely on the bible, should be pointed out.

Sort:  

Hmmmmm. That changes the narrative some, but not the conclusion. I did not realize that the original was 'do not murder'.

I knew, of course, of the crimes punishable by death in the bible. I do acknowledge that a Society has the right to legislate what ever prohibitions it deems fit for itself.

In matters like this I try not to rely on the bible as a single source. Josephus touched on the execution of the man Jesus Christ.

Entirely aside: I'm always really glad to see you, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63642.78
ETH 3447.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49