Sort:  

yes, at the beginning of the post, we talked about it:

A successful graft or union is dependent on compatibility of scion (top) and rootstock (bottom). Two simple categories are STONES and STARS. Cut an apple or pear horizontally and you'll see a star, so they may be compatible (think of the Rosacea family). Stones includes fruits with pits like peaches, plum, nectarines etc (prunus genus)... Often species in the same genus will take such as pecan scion on hickory rootstock (Carya genus). Look up specifics as they are exceptions and anomalies.

Does that help?

Yes, I read that. My question wasn't specific, I'm sorry about that.

So basically it has to be stones or stars for them to work, so then my question would be that it doesn't matter if - for example as I don't know which one has which - I take a lemon and apple tree, as long as it has the same thing? If they don't then they wont work.
Was wondering if there were any exceptions to that or not.

Good line of questioning, and yes there are of course exceptions. There are different botanical families that determine whether grafts will takes. The stones and stars are a very BASIC framework. Apples (an other stars) are in the rosacea family, which is quite distant from say lemons (not sure what family citrus fall into). The stones all fall into the prunus genus.

I would look up compatibility for any specific species you may be interested in. Hope this helps.

Ok, I am new to grafting, so learning from the very beginnings right. I will look that up for sure. Thank you. Where I live we have very few fruit trees, so I have become curious of grafting to see what I can do to actually have one that turns out. Our summers are short and not as hot as where most fruit trees are. We do not have an abundance of apple trees here. I read up on avocado trees, which I have started, but I found that even though I can grow the tree, it will not be fruitful in my area. So what can I do to make that happen? Grafting seems like something to try :)

Where do u live? Curious to see your climatic zone to look up possibilities :)

Northern Ontario (Canada). Zone 2a. 4 months of summer.

whew that's quite cold! you can also look at russian varieties of things as they have a similar climate. you can google zone 2 a cold hardy fruits and nuts and find things around the world that you can grow too! you may be surprised at the wealth of plants that fruit in your area! you probably haven't heard of most of them yet hahah but with an open mind and a little research, you can find them. with a little research this morning i found the following website which you could peruse http://www.sustainablehomesteading.com/edible-and-medicinal-plants/growing-cold-hardy-food-forest-berries-vines-fruit-trees/ ... saw some familiar faces there that we grow!

as far as grafting i'm not specifically sure, but you could try the following fruits and nuts (which would also give you some families of species to try): sea buckthorn, Silverberry Elaeagnus commutata, Buffalo Berry Shepherdia canadensis, look into lowbush blueberries, aronia, cherries, possibly elderberries, maybe mulberry, black walnut (which you can def graft), pine nut... just to start. hope this helps ! :) you could also check out this canadian tree/fruit website for crossovers for your zone :) http://treetime.ca/

WOW! Thank you very much! You definitely know how to look for something when you know what you are talking about. I am looking all this up, reading up on all that I can within the next few days, get my butt in gear so I can get some fruits going.
Last year I did try elderberry. I love that plant and plan to make a syrup out of it for the winters when we catch colds but something got at my 3 plants right from the underground. Got holes, no plants. Thinking moles got them lol.

Im checking out the treetime.ca, never seen this site before. I am excited! Thank you again, so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33