You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Practicing Self Compassion Day 1

in #ecotrain6 years ago

You did a great job on this post. I really like how you conveyed your experience and self-doubt about writing the post. It is a real example of how self-compassion works.

When I begin to sink into stinking thinking, I remind myself that I'm not my thoughts. Also, that I'm perfect in this moment. If things don't work out as I planned that it is opportunity to learn and grow.

I coach a high school debate team. Many of my debaters initially equate losing with failure. I have taught them that FAIL means

First
Attempt
In
Learning!

We then go on to discuss what they can learn from the experience. Often they end up with a better understanding of the topic and are able to handle the specific point or argument style better in the future.

Sort:  

Thanks, @emergehealthier. It's great that you're able to deal with your thoughts healthily. It's also great that you were able to help your students deal with failure and learn from them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46