You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Great Advice and Tips On How to Survive a Self Build!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

2, 6 and 9; these are the only ones I can say I did right.

This is a lot of great advice right here, I still haven't brought myself to write about our painful struggles with our earthbags.

I had particular trouble with community. I don't want to say 'there's no such thing as volunteering by us', but surely everyone I know won't even show up without the promise of pay (and even then they often don't).

I think I have learned 8 and 4 the hard way, I am a better planner now for these experiences.

Blessings to you!

Sort:  

thanks for your comment brother! I can feel your pain even without hearing about it! ;-(
I LOVE earthbag, and it can be such a good way to go.. but its all about the people who lead...

I have tried volunteering in SO many ways,, and the only way i found it worked was to charge them a minimal amount to get committment and let them cover food costs.. that way they can work or chill out and I dont mind.. I always hated having to put pressure on volunteers who I was sponsoring.. it never felt good and was not flexible enough to just let people do things their way a bit.. some come for a day, some a week, some a month, and some never leave! ;-)

i hope you write about your experiences sometimes.. would be interested to hear about it.. Im dreaming to make an earthbag round roof and hope to learn more about it before i try it..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50