You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Food: Load Up My Omelette with Dandelions Please!

in #ecotrain5 years ago

OOoh, this is such a yummy and informative article, thank you sooo much, @sagescrub! I came across it whilst searching for wild-foraging posts and blogs... Yesterday I gathered a beautiful pile of bietole leaves - a kind of giant spinach or chard, which grows prolifically in this part of Italy... It's also wild asparagus season, so I'm awaiting the next rainfall to get out a-hunting :-D Happy foraging, and thank you for your sharings!
IMG_20190321_165643.jpg

Sort:  

Hey! Wow how fun you found this old post, almost a year ago now :) Last year I saved many dandelion seeds and I am even selling them in my Seeds of Abundance store at Homesteaders Co-op .... @homesteaderscoop. I just planted out a row of dandelion seed in the garden earlier this week. I planted some last year too but interplanted with the burdock and the burdock over shaded the dandelion I planted.. so this year they are getting their own dedicated space!! But I am still harvesting the "wild" dandelion from the garden as we prepare beds for planting this spring's crops. Oh I love the dandelion! We could live off of it so easily if we wanted to. But variety is nice too ;) The bietole looks so delicious... WOW!! we don't have anything like that growing here.. how lucky to have those leaves growing nearby :) Its nice to meet another forager and fun to see new plants that we don't have here :) I am patiently waiting for the first mushrooms.... must go out next week and take another look! Thanks also for the info about the local italian style of blanching the dandelions... it is so interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43