Organic farmer Adi shows us local fruits and vegetables around North Lombok

in #ecotrain6 years ago

20180726_141835.png

I have been staying in Adi's village in North lombok for two weeks now and he has been introducing me to a whole load of amazing local fruits and vegetables. I'm surprised daily by everything he has to show me that it seemed a good idea to document everything.

Adi once lived on a patch of land with his parents where there were many kinds of different fruit trees and they would grow many different vegetables but now days he lives in the village and his childhood home no longer exists.

The land for farming which locally they call 'the garden' is split between different families and mainly peanuts are grown and harvested twice a year in the dry season and rotated as a rice crops grown in the wet season. There are beans, chili and fruit trees placed all around the edge of each piece of land and some plots are growing spring onions, green leafy vegetables and corn.

Adi's dream is to be able to move back on his land being able to grow everything he needs on his one plot 'permaculture style' this is also where we hope to work on setting up a retreat and building an eco building, where visitors can stay and he can earn some income from tourism.

We also have other ideas for helping the trash problem in the local community and building a cultural/community/education centre but I'll explain more about that in some up and coming posts.

I started a utube account for Adi and this is his first video which I filmed and edited only on my mobile so it's a bit raw but I hope you enjoy it none the less. Please like the video and subscribe to Adi's channel!

Sort:  

Indonesia merah darah ku, putih tulang ku 😍
In the nineties I climbed Rinjani while Anak Rinjani ( the small one in the crater) was erupting, I worked on Gili Trawangan as a diving instructor, Bahasa Indonesia is my second best foreign language (right after English), so many fond memories.
Have a nice time there!

Hehe its a beautiful language, I'm still in the beginning stages but I'm also learning local words at the same time. Wow ur so lucky to have gone there in the 90s that was the good old days, you don't want to see what gilí looks like today completely rinsed, coral all destroyed, trash everywhere. Thankfully Indonesia has many other untouched gilis.

Love it! I will definitely go visit him when I am there in a month!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83