You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardening for Food Security - Indoor Gardening Project Part 3 - The Experiment Worked!

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Fantastic! I love the snow shot through your greens! How do you find the indoor versus outdoor? More maintenance or easier? Must be less stressful through winter @porters

Sort:  

I've been wanting to grow fresh food all four seasons for a long time and now I can! This is easier to maintain in that the plants are on benches so easier to get at. We have to haul water in for there is no rain from Mother Nature indoors. We have 2 big barrels indoors that we filled with rainwater (had to dump the rain barrels outside for it was freezing to hard) Then we bring in snow to melt to water the plants. I'm really loving having the light from the grow light . I think it helps with the S.A.D. from the lack of light here in the winter. Nothing grows outdoors in the winter for it goes to 30 degrees below Celsius so I am very happy to have been able to bring some of my gardening indoors. this is our house in the winter - I am growing in the sun room attached to the front of the house. winter scene of house.jpg

Wow @porters. I know it must be freezing but it is beautiful! What a lovely photo. Sounds like you have worked out a good system. The grow light is a fantastic idea. Well done. You are inspiring

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37