You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing on the Death Penalty

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I am not saying I disagree with you, but I think the general depravity of society makes it hard for us to consider any alternative. I will give an example of this in a second. It is funny that most conservatives who are for the death penalty should really be the ones to acknowledge forgiveness. For me the idea of redemption comes into play a lot. I also think that death penalty cases are targeted on the wrong offenses. Here is my example. I can wrap my head around someone killing another person and later feeling remorse about that and truly repenting and thus not receiving the death penalty much more than the headline I saw the other day where a guy sexually assaulted a sixteen month old baby. Again, I don't really support the death penalty, I think there is a God that will handle punishments at the appointed time. It is thought provoking though.

Sort:  

I agree. The possibility of redemption has to be taken into consideration, but it still leaves humans in charge of the administration and they are not capable of that task on any sort of consistent basis.

I am certainly not advocating no punishment. My entire argument against the death penalty is based on administration of same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64585.64
ETH 3508.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48